Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 40 yrs it is the favorite of all who taste them...they are so crisp yet tender and I think the powered sugar makes all the difference....I make about 4 batches every holiday season and they are the first to go,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe was given to me by a friend three years ago who has long since moved out of State. I wrote it down on an envelope and lost it this past year and have been trying to find it again since it has been a family favorite! I have used this recipe for numerous projects at school for Valentines Day as a room mom, soccer parties, at home for any given holiday and bake sales, etc. I have found that it is better to use the dough directly after mixing due to ease of use. It is a firm cookie when baked, but flaky. It is a GREAT cookie for kids to decorate since they are not "soggy" in texture and hold up very well to little hands. They have wonderful flavor! I also bake my cookies for 12 min. instead of 8 or until the edges are a golden brown. We like the golden edges better and have noticed that they have almost a "spritz" like flavor. This is one recipe that I am happy to have back! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is exactly the sugar cookie recipe I was looking for. Light, flaky, slightly crisp, but not crunchy. Perfect flavor with the vanilla and almond extracts. This is definitely a keeper for those who like a traditional sugar cookie. For those who like thick, soft cookies, you'll want to try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever! Until I found this recipe my cookies came out dry and flavorless. I didn't have almond extract so I only used vanilla extract which I added a little extra. I also Rolled the dough between wax paper to avoid excess flour to dry them out. These cookies are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
They are the best sugar cookie i have cooked. My kids just love them thank you for sharing them with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I have used this recipe since the early 70s, I just love it! I lost the it and soo glad to have found it on allrecipes.com! I don't use the almond, but do use the vanilla flavoring. These are great made with the powedered sugar instead of the granulated for a change. Thanks for posting these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These sugars cookies are very good. I used coconut extract instead of almond extract it made them have a really great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is the best cookie recipe. I use this for my personal cooking and for my 8th grade Home Economics classes. The powdered sugar in the recipe makes the dough easy to work with and the students can roll the dough many times without it becoming stiff. I always chill the cookie dough over-night for my classes, but it can be placed in the freezer for 15 minutes and will roll out o.k. If it is too stiff to roll when you remove it on day two, pop it in the microwave for 15 seconds so it is workable. (You may have to do this a couple of times.) I work with a small amount of dough at a time and leave the rest in the refrigerator. After it has been rolled once, push the left-overs back together and roll again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I took these cookies to work for Christmas. The other teachers were so impressed that they begged me to bake more (for $6 a dozen). My kids and I ended up baking over 25 dozen...a tidy sum at Christmastime. We iced them in pretty colors using icing made with powdered sugar, food coloring, a little almond extract and milk. I put about a teaspoon of almond in 1/4 cup of milk and add it a little at a time to several bowls of sugar, squirting with coloring before I stir. Add more milk mixture or sugar to get the desired texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This has been my favorite sugar cookie recipe for many years. It's right out of my 1988 Betty Crocker cookbook. The hint of almond flavoring is delicious and the powdered sugar gives it a great texture. Try it! I'm about to make a batch of Valentine cut-outs right now. Great with frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States