Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is exactly the sugar cookie recipe I was looking for. Light, flaky, slightly crisp, but not crunchy. Perfect flavor with the vanilla and almond extracts. This is definitely a keeper for those who like a traditional sugar cookie. For those who like thick, soft cookies, you'll want to try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
The cookies were good once I fixed them. I refrigerated then overnight so when it came time to roll and cut they were to crumbly and hard. I had to add a little water to roll out and then cook. Once done they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 40 yrs it is the favorite of all who taste them...they are so crisp yet tender and I think the powered sugar makes all the difference....I make about 4 batches every holiday season and they are the first to go,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever! Until I found this recipe my cookies came out dry and flavorless. I didn't have almond extract so I only used vanilla extract which I added a little extra. I also Rolled the dough between wax paper to avoid excess flour to dry them out. These cookies are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
They are the best sugar cookie i have cooked. My kids just love them thank you for sharing them with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I have used this recipe since the early 70s, I just love it! I lost the it and soo glad to have found it on allrecipes.com! I don't use the almond, but do use the vanilla flavoring. These are great made with the powedered sugar instead of the granulated for a change. Thanks for posting these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These sugars cookies are very good. I used coconut extract instead of almond extract it made them have a really great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
My cookies didn't keep there shape well, there were somewhat soft and dry. I even used powdered sugar (instead of flour) to roll them out in to keep them from getting dry. Anyway, they weren't quite the texture I was hoping for. I did make one batch with some red food coloring for valentine heart cookies, it was real cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I'm sure they would have been better if I hadn't messed around with the recipe so much, but as it was I had to half everything and ended up using cherry extract instead of almond, as well as adding a good fourth of a cup more sugar. I never needed to refrigerate the dough, but then I didn't cut them, just rolled them into balls. After cooking, I spread a bit of buttercream icing on top and they turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is the best cookie recipe. I use this for my personal cooking and for my 8th grade Home Economics classes. The powdered sugar in the recipe makes the dough easy to work with and the students can roll the dough many times without it becoming stiff. I always chill the cookie dough over-night for my classes, but it can be placed in the freezer for 15 minutes and will roll out o.k. If it is too stiff to roll when you remove it on day two, pop it in the microwave for 15 seconds so it is workable. (You may have to do this a couple of times.) I work with a small amount of dough at a time and leave the rest in the refrigerator. After it has been rolled once, push the left-overs back together and roll again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States