Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My office loved these for Halloween! Will definately make again and again! Note: I found it easier to roll out straight from the fridge as opposed to letting it sit. Plus I had to use lots of flour cause it was a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I too have been using this recipe for most of my cooking lifetime. it is from Betty Crocker's Cooky Book - 1978. It has become my signature cookie since everyone loves it. QUESTION - I wanted to make it into a chocolate version and I'm not sure what adding cocoa powder would do to the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this is the only one I have liked. My kids absolutely loved this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
wonderful cookie!!! Tasted great, and was very easy to roll out and bake. This is now my favorite cutout cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I've used this recipe for 20+ years. It NEVER fails! I use a cream cheese frosting for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is a family favorite so much I make almost 1000 of these each Christmas. We have a system and my daughter is planning on keeping the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These cookies turned out just perfectly! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any almond extract so just for fun put in a spoonful of Frangelico hazelnut liqueur! I made the dough and chilled it in the refrigerator, wrapped in plastic wrap, for 2 days until I finally had a chance to roll them out with the kids. I took the dough out to let it soften for just a few minutes and the cookies still rolled out just fine even though the dough spent extra time in the refrigerator. For the icing, I used the Allrecipe "Sugar Cookie Icing", which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is the best tasting sugar cookie I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The cream of tartar in this is a great improvement over the usual floury taste of sugar cookies, and the texture is great (but like others have noted, these are more fragile than traditional sugar cookies). I roll the dough out between two sheets of parchment paper while it's just slightly cool to help hold the dough together, then put it back in the fridge on the cutting board for a few minutes before cutting out the cookies. Because of the almond extract, these are even good without decorating. Thanks to Pat for posting this recipe; it was used by the mother of my childhood friend, and I didn't think I'd find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been making these cookies for the past 3-4 years. Over the years, I have tried other sugar cookie recipes and they have all proven one thing to me...don't change a good thing!! This cookie recipe is simply the best and the hint of almond flavour gives it a little something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States