Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These cookies were somewhat crumbly and dry. I used a simple glaze to sweeten them up, but on their own they weren't very good. I won't make them again, which surprised me because of the ratings. Very bland cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMFred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I used this recipe for sugar cookie cut-outs. Since the photos shows cut-outs, I thought this recipe would work well. I chilled the dough for 2 hours, as directed. The dough was extremely sticky when I tried to roll it out. Forget trying to do cut-outs with this recipe. Good tasting cookies, but recommend another recipe for cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
dough was far too sticky for cutouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were only ok (we still ate them of course, they are cookies afterall!). But I felt like they weren't all that great by themselves and really relied on the frosting to make them yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
the flavor is excellent, the texture when making the dough is very good. My kids cut out several shapes with cookie cutters. While they were baking, they spread and puffed a little so it wasnt a precise shape like the cookie cutter, but it was still recognizable. We then decorated them with icing. Overall, a good tasting cookie and a good time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
great recipe, Love the use of confectioners sugar instead of reg sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This christmas was my first year using this recipe, but I can tell you it will be a tradtion from here on out! The dough makes the perfect amount of cookies and not to mention how awesome they taste! This is definitely coming back for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
As a sugar cookie I rate this a 5. For how much fun we had making and decorating, I'd give it a 10! The recipe was easy, rolled out nicely and baked up nice and soft. To give them even a bigger hint of almond I added almond extract to the icing I put on them. My grown kids and I made these with 3 small children who had never decorated Christmas cookies before. This recipe helped to make some very good memories for some very special children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
A wonderful recipe! I had to make a couple changes due to food allergies at our house. Took out the almond extract and put a bit more vanilla in and took out the egg and substituted it with a 1/4 of plain nonfat yogurt. This is a really nice Buttery and sugary mix. Easy to work dough. So pleased with our xmas cutouts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
As I was mixing the ingredents listed I began to fear that it would not make the amount stated (5 dozen/60 cookies). I was correct. It made about half that. After I sealed it in an airtight container to chill the dough. I left it in there for 2 hours as stated on the recipe. When I went to get the chilled dough out of the bowl it was very hard and dry. I worked it on the counter and brought it to room temperater. It was MUCH easier to work with at that point. The dough was still very dry and cracked a lot as I rolled it out. Also, instead of greasing the baking sheets I used parchment paper (it cuts out a few calories). That worked just find. However, since I had to bring the dough to room temperature I also had to adjust the baking time. 6 minutes was perfect. Once baked I was still not too happy. There was a bland flavor to the cookies. After all that I have decided to use another recipe. :( Thanks for trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States