Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good recipe for taste. Versatile as well - I can see adding other flavor extracts in place of the almond (coconut, raspberry, etc). Once the dough chills, you do need to let it warm up slightly so that it's pliable to roll. I cut out my cookies then put them into the freezer until just before baking so that they keep their shape better. If you bake them when they're room temperature, they will spread out quite a bit and lose their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My new favorite! The almond extract makes these cookies! I doubled the recipe and added an extra cup of flour, perfect flavor, nicely sweet. The kids *loved* the dough. I did manage to make car cookies for our derby car race tomorrow. I did refrigerate the dough for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I followed the recipe perfectly, then let it chill overnight. The consistency of the dough didn't change at all and it was impossible to roll out and use a cookie cutter, which was what the instructions say it will do and what I needed it to do. Not sure if it's the copious amounts of butter or some other factor, but this recipe bombed. Try a different one and save yourself ingredients and time. Sorry, Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
SCORE!!! I had stopped making sugar cookies a few years ago because I found them to be overly sweet or bland. I was cooking with children and I wanted them to cut out cookies and decorate them, so I found this to be the best rated sugar cookie recipe and decided to give it a go, not expecting to really like them. Everyone, including myself, loved them. They are just as most reviewers said, light, crisp without being crunchy, and the hint of almond takes the taste over the top. I followed the recipe, weighing the sugar (6 oz) and flour (10.6 oz) instead of measuring it. I did not sift the sugar and the only change I made was to add about a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the dry ingredients. I recommend dividing the dough in half before you put it in the refrigerator instead of waiting until you are about to roll the dough out. This makes it easier to work quickly with the dough while it is still firm and cool. Sugar cookies will definitely be back on my holiday baking list this Christmas, now that I've got the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Terrible to cut out! I even chilled the dough over night. It was soft and sticky. I did follow the recipe with no substitutions. I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this one was the worst for cut out cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
LOVE THIS RECIPE! Every time I make this recipe; all who partake tell me it's the best sugar cookie they have ever had! I think the frosting helps to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These cookies were somewhat crumbly and dry. I used a simple glaze to sweeten them up, but on their own they weren't very good. I won't make them again, which surprised me because of the ratings. Very bland cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMFred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I used this recipe for sugar cookie cut-outs. Since the photos shows cut-outs, I thought this recipe would work well. I chilled the dough for 2 hours, as directed. The dough was extremely sticky when I tried to roll it out. Forget trying to do cut-outs with this recipe. Good tasting cookies, but recommend another recipe for cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
dough was far too sticky for cutouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were only ok (we still ate them of course, they are cookies afterall!). But I felt like they weren't all that great by themselves and really relied on the frosting to make them yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States