Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These were great & easy to work with!!!! We haven't iced them yet (working with a three year old so we'll finish them tomorrow) BUT they taste great even without icing. I love the hint of almond flavor. When mixing the dough, I was concerned at first. It didn't look like it was going to form into a doughy mixture but after a couple of minutes of mixing the butter mixture finally worked its way through the flour mixture. I like the fact that you can make them a different thickness to get a different form of cookie. We have varied tastes in our family. Some like them soft and other like them crisp. Even the soft ones held their form while handling them after being baked. So, this recipe worked well for that. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Try rolling dough out a cloth (no lint cloth)covered with powdered sugar and putting powdered sugar on the rolling pin. It keeps the cookies VERY soft and no need to add the granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I had never tried to make a sugar cookie before, and wanted to try out my new cookie cutters I just bought. The dough is very dry, needs to warm up a bit before rolling out. The cooking time should say 8 to 10 minutes. The cookie description should say Soft Sugar Cookie, and the flavoring with almond and vanilla was not my favorite..I will not make this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a good sugar cookie. The dough is very easy to work with and did not get dry or crack. I like the faint almond taste and the cookies stayed nice and soft even when left uncovered. The taste was not quite as sweet as I would have hoped, but this was helped with frosting! I use the Sugar Cookie Frosting recipe on this site (submitted by Kathy Brandt). I'm still looking for that "perfect" sugar cookie, but this was certainly not a disappointment and I'm glad I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
liked the fact that these are not overly sweet on their own, so they are a great recipe to ice. Liked the hint of almond; dough was very easy to work with and stayed firm. Only thing I found was that this dough needs to be handled very little. With too much handling, they can be a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Just great! They come out flaky and delicate - almost a cross between pie crust and cake. Very nice flavour. I used orange instead of almond and it was great. Would add a pinch less baking soda and cream of tartar next time, but that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekkah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
The dough was hard to work with even when chilled to specifications. I didn't have almond extract so I used coconut extract instead. Flavour was buttery and not too sweet. Tastes better when frosted. Not one of my favourite cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravitydroppings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkrzy4bkng
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Not my favorite choice in a recipe. The dough was fairly easy to work with with little cracking when rolling out. I felt the taste of the cookies were plain with little or no taste at all. But, not the worst either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Let me just sum it up in one word...."PERFECT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These cookies are delicious - crisp and the almond extract lends a wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I just sprinkled with colored sugar since I didn't have time to frost - they are great just like that! Not too overly sweet, but tender and crisp! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States