Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were very tasty. Better than the other basic sugar cookie recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These cookies were perfect for making Christmas cookies with my 3 and 6 year old. They had good flavor, if just a bit too much baking soda (of course that made them have just the right kind of crispy). I was in a hurry and rolled them out a bit thick, which turned out to be a good choice. Once the kids decorated them they were just sweet enough (but a tad garish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I made up the dough last evening and refridgerated it in 2 batches. Today I set the dough out to make it more workable. I was disappointed it was slightly difficult to work. I probably added close to 1/2+ powder sugar and flour to the dough to make it stiff enough to hold the form and to transfer it to the cookie sheet. Normally 1/4 is fine, but these seem to spread too much and flattened out. The taste is good, but I like fluffier cookies. I think I'll stick with Dora's Christmas Cookies. I do like the almond extract in the dough. Personally it gives the cookies another dimension of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kissthecook
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I picked a good one. They turned out slighty chewy yet still crisp; exactly the way I wanted. They also contain that authentic sugar cookie depth of taste, probably due to the addition of almond extract. They also brown beautifully [minus the batch I accidently overcooked; oops]. Try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I roll these into balls and bake. Don't even refrigerate the dough first. Not another sugar cookie recipe on earth has this tremendous a flavor. Hands down, this recipe is the favorite of this sugar cookie fan! My coworkers beg me for these cookies frosted with a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I'm still searching for that perfect sugar cookie for cutouts! I was not impressed with this recipe. The dough wasn't easy to work with, not stiff enough, the cookies didn't hold their shape once cut & came out even worse when baking. The only good thing I can give this recipe is they do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donnalyn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Nice sugar cookie recipe. It reminds me a lot of shortcake cookies. I accidently let it sit more than 2 hours in the fridge so I had to knead it a bit before it would roll out nice. Once it warmed up a bit it was awesome to work with. Even after kneading it, it still had a melt in your mouth texture. I made Jack O' Lantern Pumpkins for my grandson's kindergarten class. They loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donnalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These were great & easy to work with!!!! We haven't iced them yet (working with a three year old so we'll finish them tomorrow) BUT they taste great even without icing. I love the hint of almond flavor. When mixing the dough, I was concerned at first. It didn't look like it was going to form into a doughy mixture but after a couple of minutes of mixing the butter mixture finally worked its way through the flour mixture. I like the fact that you can make them a different thickness to get a different form of cookie. We have varied tastes in our family. Some like them soft and other like them crisp. Even the soft ones held their form while handling them after being baked. So, this recipe worked well for that. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Try rolling dough out a cloth (no lint cloth)covered with powdered sugar and putting powdered sugar on the rolling pin. It keeps the cookies VERY soft and no need to add the granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I had never tried to make a sugar cookie before, and wanted to try out my new cookie cutters I just bought. The dough is very dry, needs to warm up a bit before rolling out. The cooking time should say 8 to 10 minutes. The cookie description should say Soft Sugar Cookie, and the flavoring with almond and vanilla was not my favorite..I will not make this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States