Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This is exactly the sugar cookie recipe I was looking for. Light, flaky, slightly crisp, but not crunchy. Perfect flavor with the vanilla and almond extracts. This is definitely a keeper for those who like a traditional sugar cookie. For those who like thick, soft cookies, you'll want to try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Good recipe- just have to adjust the baking time and temp. Mine were browning around the edges after 5 minutes, making them too crunchy and hard. Sugar cookies should be tender and soft, in my opinion. After turning down the heat to 350 and baking for only 6 minutes, these were perfect. I prefer sugar cookies using powdered sugar instead of granulated- I think it makes them more soft and tender. Frosted with luscious buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever! Until I found this recipe my cookies came out dry and flavorless. I didn't have almond extract so I only used vanilla extract which I added a little extra. I also Rolled the dough between wax paper to avoid excess flour to dry them out. These cookies are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I tried these at Christmas time this year. They weren't terribly difficult to make and the dough was easy to work with (with a well-floured board and rolling pin), but this recipe only made half the amount I thought it should. The taste was okay--a little bland, but better with frosting. They also spread too much during baking, and did not hold their shape very well at all! I don't think I'll make these again; they're just too bland and crumbly. I've tried several sugar cookie recipes from this website, and one of the reviewers said she'd stick to the recipe in BHG for sugar cookie cutouts. Then I tried that recipe as well. I agree with her 100%--BHG's were exactly right, just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 40 yrs it is the favorite of all who taste them...they are so crisp yet tender and I think the powered sugar makes all the difference....I make about 4 batches every holiday season and they are the first to go,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Perfect recipe! These made the perfect cookies--soft without being chewy, with a lovely melt-in-your-mouth texture. I topped with buttercream icing and they were terrific, I love the almond flavor. I'm not sure why some have had problems with this recipe but I would say to make sure the powdered sugar you measure is already sifted, rather than taking a cup and a half of packed powdered sugar and THEN sifting it, or you could end up with too much. And to keep them soft make sure you don't roll them out too thin, these do need to be rolled out a bit thicker than most sugar cookies. The only problem I had was that this didn't make anywhere NEAR as many cookies as the recipe said it would, but the ones I did have were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother has made these cookies for years. They are my favorite sugar cookies. I love the hint of almond flavoring. You can also shape this dough in to a log, wrap, chill, and use as a slice and bake cookie. Dip the tops in color tinted sugar--and you have an easy treat for the kids! I also don't think you can really get 5 dozen out of this recipe--unless you roll them out super thin. I usually get about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is the best cookie recipe. I use this for my personal cooking and for my 8th grade Home Economics classes. The powdered sugar in the recipe makes the dough easy to work with and the students can roll the dough many times without it becoming stiff. I always chill the cookie dough over-night for my classes, but it can be placed in the freezer for 15 minutes and will roll out o.k. If it is too stiff to roll when you remove it on day two, pop it in the microwave for 15 seconds so it is workable. (You may have to do this a couple of times.) I work with a small amount of dough at a time and leave the rest in the refrigerator. After it has been rolled once, push the left-overs back together and roll again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe was given to me by a friend three years ago who has long since moved out of State. I wrote it down on an envelope and lost it this past year and have been trying to find it again since it has been a family favorite! I have used this recipe for numerous projects at school for Valentines Day as a room mom, soccer parties, at home for any given holiday and bake sales, etc. I have found that it is better to use the dough directly after mixing due to ease of use. It is a firm cookie when baked, but flaky. It is a GREAT cookie for kids to decorate since they are not "soggy" in texture and hold up very well to little hands. They have wonderful flavor! I also bake my cookies for 12 min. instead of 8 or until the edges are a golden brown. We like the golden edges better and have noticed that they have almost a "spritz" like flavor. This is one recipe that I am happy to have back! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
The cookies were good once I fixed them. I refrigerated then overnight so when it came time to roll and cut they were to crumbly and hard. I had to add a little water to roll out and then cook. Once done they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States