Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My mother made these for eons. I remember making them with her, over 40 years ago. This sugar cookie recipe is an all time fave. Easy & breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The best rolled sugar cookie! I substituted 2 tsp. lemon juice for the cream of tartar. I am not fond of a strong buttery flavor so I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. I chilled the dough in the freezer for 1/2 hour and then rolled between parchment paper. After cutting out the cookies I pressed them into colored sugar that I made from the "colored sugar" recipe on this site. The end product was a very colorful sugar cookie that tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I loved loved loved this recipe. They came out perfect both times I've made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misskellyann
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I baked these cookies twice at two different cookie parties and both times they came out delicious! I'm craving them now in fact! They taste like the ones from the store that are all puffy with frosting except you know what's in them. No trans fat and chemicals. They are so good I recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskellyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is the second years I have made these cookies, and there GREAT!. I make them just like the recipe tells ya, and their so Darn Good, that I had had Friends ask me to make them for there Christmas Holiday's, I think they Love them Cuz I'm a Guy, and they think I bake better then there wives.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chettler
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Very good cookie. I did make one minor alteration, and added about 1/4 tsp of salt to help bring up the flavors and balance out the confectioners sugar. This cookie has great texture too. Slightly crisp on the edges and soft in the middle. What a sugar cookie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
There's so many sugar cookie recipes out there, but this is my favorite so far! Using powdered sugar instead of regular makes them positively velvety! I found only two cons: 1) the dough is quite soft, so I usually have to work in some extra flour while I'm rolling them out, and 2)this makes a pretty delicate cookie that doesn't travel especially well--if I were making it for a potluck or something I'd probably look for a sturdier recipe. I give it five stars for flavor and texture, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
no thanks easy, enough to make but no thanks I do not see what all the fuss is about, the taste was very disappointing, there are much better sugar cookies recipes on here, we did frost them and it was still a bland and boring cookie, sorry I do not like giving bad reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These are my family's favorite cut-out cookie and we have been making this one for over 35 years. If you leave your cookies uncovered they'll be crisp, if you seal them in a container they'll be soft and there even seems to be a taste difference between the two. The icing we use is: 1 C powdered sugar, 1/4 t salt, 1/2 t vanilla, 1 1/2 T. milk or water (Give or take - don’t want it too thick but not too thin either).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Overall a good recipe, worth using. Mine came out a little crunchy ..not soft in any extent of the word, but still good. I put frosting on mine, which made it taste that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States