Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These cookies turned out just perfectly! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any almond extract so just for fun put in a spoonful of Frangelico hazelnut liqueur! I made the dough and chilled it in the refrigerator, wrapped in plastic wrap, for 2 days until I finally had a chance to roll them out with the kids. I took the dough out to let it soften for just a few minutes and the cookies still rolled out just fine even though the dough spent extra time in the refrigerator. For the icing, I used the Allrecipe "Sugar Cookie Icing", which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is the best tasting sugar cookie I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
The cream of tartar in this is a great improvement over the usual floury taste of sugar cookies, and the texture is great (but like others have noted, these are more fragile than traditional sugar cookies). I roll the dough out between two sheets of parchment paper while it's just slightly cool to help hold the dough together, then put it back in the fridge on the cutting board for a few minutes before cutting out the cookies. Because of the almond extract, these are even good without decorating. Thanks to Pat for posting this recipe; it was used by the mother of my childhood friend, and I didn't think I'd find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been making these cookies for the past 3-4 years. Over the years, I have tried other sugar cookie recipes and they have all proven one thing to me...don't change a good thing!! This cookie recipe is simply the best and the hint of almond flavour gives it a little something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
great easy and taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very crumbly and hard to work with... had to re-roll four or five times to cut down on the cracking. They taste great with frosting, but if you're looking for a cookie to just decorate with colored granulated sugar, keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Even Grandma admitted these are better than hers! We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've been making these for about a year. I've tried several recipes from this site, and these are the best. Chewy, soft, slightly crispy on the edges. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Ok, so I know I shouldn't review these until I've finished the whole recipe, but I just couldn't wait. These barely made it into the fridge!! I could've licked the whole bowl clean. DELISH!! I'll rate this again after I've finished baking them. Thank you Mary!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Cordova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These cookies were great! I did follow the advice of some of the other reviews and turn the oven temp down to 350. Also, I have to stress that when you chill the dough, you must chill for longer that 2 hours-overnight, if possible. Other than that, they were wonderful. The almond extract gave them a little something extra. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States