Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am not a novice in the cookie department but this recipe was a fail. I tried it twice. Once as is on the recipe and once using some tips from other reviewers. Both times the cookies were dry and crumbly and not very tasty. Maybe this is a recipe that should be noted as being one to use for icing? because putting the normal sugar on it wasn't enough to make them taste anything other than bland. I wanted them to be good. Especially using the almond extract (which I LOVE LOVE). Sorry to all the ones who thought this was awesome. This recipe most definitely wasn't it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joshua, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I have made them a few times. The last time I used this recipe, I used it as a base for the mint chocolate chip cookies on this site from betty crocker. I didn't want to use store bought sugar cookie dough for that recipe so I used this. Turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great cookies! I ended up adding a tiny bit of water because the dough was too dry. I also followed another recommendation and cooked them 6 min at 350 degrees. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Family favorite for Christmas cut outs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were my Aunt Margie's signature cookies and the only one I liked, until I discovered homemade Oreos. They are still my all time favorites. Hers were always bigger, fluffier and softer. I prefer mine harder and crunchier, but my family doesn't. Just can't duplicate them like she made them, but they are still incredible to me. I was so happy that the site had the recipe. I had misplaced my copy for awhile. These are the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have been making these cookies for 40 years. Yes, the dough is a little difficult to handle and it tends to crack, but you won't find a better sugar cookie. It is not Christmas in my daughter's house until a plate of these arrive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was one of the best sugar recipes I have ever made and I have made many over the years. The cookies are so good, no icing is really needed. Light and crisp cookie. Thanks so much for sharing! This is now a regular cookie in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are good, but not the best. I usually use the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe from this site, but chose this one this time. I followed the instructions, but the dough did crack a little when rolling. After baking for the specified time, I had a few cookies completely break after removing them from the pan. The flavor is terrific (I do love almond flavoring), so I wish I had had better luck this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Made this recipe for years and watched it deteriate over time. Problem: I was using the same jar of cream of tarter for the last 6 years. Buy some fresh cream of tarter everyone!!!!! and if you don't have almond extract remove a 1/2 of the flour and replace it with a 1/2 cup of Red Mill Almond flour (or grind your own almonds in a food processor). The almond flour gives it just the slightest meaty kind of a texture but the cookies are delicate (with or without the almond flour) and these are not good for shipping to Iraq or Afganistan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States