Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
As a sugar cookie I rate this a 5. For how much fun we had making and decorating, I'd give it a 10! The recipe was easy, rolled out nicely and baked up nice and soft. To give them even a bigger hint of almond I added almond extract to the icing I put on them. My grown kids and I made these with 3 small children who had never decorated Christmas cookies before. This recipe helped to make some very good memories for some very special children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
A wonderful recipe! I had to make a couple changes due to food allergies at our house. Took out the almond extract and put a bit more vanilla in and took out the egg and substituted it with a 1/4 of plain nonfat yogurt. This is a really nice Buttery and sugary mix. Easy to work dough. So pleased with our xmas cutouts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
As I was mixing the ingredents listed I began to fear that it would not make the amount stated (5 dozen/60 cookies). I was correct. It made about half that. After I sealed it in an airtight container to chill the dough. I left it in there for 2 hours as stated on the recipe. When I went to get the chilled dough out of the bowl it was very hard and dry. I worked it on the counter and brought it to room temperater. It was MUCH easier to work with at that point. The dough was still very dry and cracked a lot as I rolled it out. Also, instead of greasing the baking sheets I used parchment paper (it cuts out a few calories). That worked just find. However, since I had to bring the dough to room temperature I also had to adjust the baking time. 6 minutes was perfect. Once baked I was still not too happy. There was a bland flavor to the cookies. After all that I have decided to use another recipe. :( Thanks for trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Excellent cookie! These came out perfectly! I had to bake them for about 10 minutes but they came out wonderful! I split the dough in two and refrigerated it for about 1 hour and then rolled it between 2 pieces of wax paper. This technique was AWESOME! No floury mess and the dough stayed soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The best sugar cookie recipe ever. I won a blue ribbon for these cookies at the state fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I baked the recommend 8 mins at 375 and the cookies came out quite dry. Perhaps a minute or so shorter bake time and they would have been just right. Good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I had NEVER before baked from scratch, and after reading through many recipes and reviews, chose Mary's sugar cookies for my first experiment. I read through a lot of the feedback, which was really helpful. The cookies turned out PERFECTLY, and I was even making "Q" and "C" cookies for some of my loved ones. No cracking, no real difficulty working the dough at all. NOTE: I did roll the dough out between two sheets of waxed paper and THEN put the rolled out dough back into the fridge for a few minutes. Cut out the cookies quickly, while the dough is still good and cold, and it was a breeze! The taste was exactly what I was looking for, classic sugar cookie goodness. I even passed some around to our neighbors. Mary's sugar cookies made this no-bake girl feel like Betty Crocker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am not a novice in the cookie department but this recipe was a fail. I tried it twice. Once as is on the recipe and once using some tips from other reviewers. Both times the cookies were dry and crumbly and not very tasty. Maybe this is a recipe that should be noted as being one to use for icing? because putting the normal sugar on it wasn't enough to make them taste anything other than bland. I wanted them to be good. Especially using the almond extract (which I LOVE LOVE). Sorry to all the ones who thought this was awesome. This recipe most definitely wasn't it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joshua, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I have made them a few times. The last time I used this recipe, I used it as a base for the mint chocolate chip cookies on this site from betty crocker. I didn't want to use store bought sugar cookie dough for that recipe so I used this. Turned out really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great cookies! I ended up adding a tiny bit of water because the dough was too dry. I also followed another recommendation and cooked them 6 min at 350 degrees. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States