Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
SCORE!!! I had stopped making sugar cookies a few years ago because I found them to be overly sweet or bland. I was cooking with children and I wanted them to cut out cookies and decorate them, so I found this to be the best rated sugar cookie recipe and decided to give it a go, not expecting to really like them. Everyone, including myself, loved them. They are just as most reviewers said, light, crisp without being crunchy, and the hint of almond takes the taste over the top. I followed the recipe, weighing the sugar (6 oz) and flour (10.6 oz) instead of measuring it. I did not sift the sugar and the only change I made was to add about a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the dry ingredients. I recommend dividing the dough in half before you put it in the refrigerator instead of waiting until you are about to roll the dough out. This makes it easier to work quickly with the dough while it is still firm and cool. Sugar cookies will definitely be back on my holiday baking list this Christmas, now that I've got the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Terrible to cut out! I even chilled the dough over night. It was soft and sticky. I did follow the recipe with no substitutions. I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this one was the worst for cut out cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
LOVE THIS RECIPE! Every time I make this recipe; all who partake tell me it's the best sugar cookie they have ever had! I think the frosting helps to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These cookies were somewhat crumbly and dry. I used a simple glaze to sweeten them up, but on their own they weren't very good. I won't make them again, which surprised me because of the ratings. Very bland cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMFred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I used this recipe for sugar cookie cut-outs. Since the photos shows cut-outs, I thought this recipe would work well. I chilled the dough for 2 hours, as directed. The dough was extremely sticky when I tried to roll it out. Forget trying to do cut-outs with this recipe. Good tasting cookies, but recommend another recipe for cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
dough was far too sticky for cutouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were only ok (we still ate them of course, they are cookies afterall!). But I felt like they weren't all that great by themselves and really relied on the frosting to make them yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Banbury

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
the flavor is excellent, the texture when making the dough is very good. My kids cut out several shapes with cookie cutters. While they were baking, they spread and puffed a little so it wasnt a precise shape like the cookie cutter, but it was still recognizable. We then decorated them with icing. Overall, a good tasting cookie and a good time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
great recipe, Love the use of confectioners sugar instead of reg sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This christmas was my first year using this recipe, but I can tell you it will be a tradtion from here on out! The dough makes the perfect amount of cookies and not to mention how awesome they taste! This is definitely coming back for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States