Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
the flavor is excellent, the texture when making the dough is very good. My kids cut out several shapes with cookie cutters. While they were baking, they spread and puffed a little so it wasnt a precise shape like the cookie cutter, but it was still recognizable. We then decorated them with icing. Overall, a good tasting cookie and a good time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
great recipe, Love the use of confectioners sugar instead of reg sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This christmas was my first year using this recipe, but I can tell you it will be a tradtion from here on out! The dough makes the perfect amount of cookies and not to mention how awesome they taste! This is definitely coming back for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
As a sugar cookie I rate this a 5. For how much fun we had making and decorating, I'd give it a 10! The recipe was easy, rolled out nicely and baked up nice and soft. To give them even a bigger hint of almond I added almond extract to the icing I put on them. My grown kids and I made these with 3 small children who had never decorated Christmas cookies before. This recipe helped to make some very good memories for some very special children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
A wonderful recipe! I had to make a couple changes due to food allergies at our house. Took out the almond extract and put a bit more vanilla in and took out the egg and substituted it with a 1/4 of plain nonfat yogurt. This is a really nice Buttery and sugary mix. Easy to work dough. So pleased with our xmas cutouts this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
As I was mixing the ingredents listed I began to fear that it would not make the amount stated (5 dozen/60 cookies). I was correct. It made about half that. After I sealed it in an airtight container to chill the dough. I left it in there for 2 hours as stated on the recipe. When I went to get the chilled dough out of the bowl it was very hard and dry. I worked it on the counter and brought it to room temperater. It was MUCH easier to work with at that point. The dough was still very dry and cracked a lot as I rolled it out. Also, instead of greasing the baking sheets I used parchment paper (it cuts out a few calories). That worked just find. However, since I had to bring the dough to room temperature I also had to adjust the baking time. 6 minutes was perfect. Once baked I was still not too happy. There was a bland flavor to the cookies. After all that I have decided to use another recipe. :( Thanks for trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Excellent cookie! These came out perfectly! I had to bake them for about 10 minutes but they came out wonderful! I split the dough in two and refrigerated it for about 1 hour and then rolled it between 2 pieces of wax paper. This technique was AWESOME! No floury mess and the dough stayed soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The best sugar cookie recipe ever. I won a blue ribbon for these cookies at the state fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I baked the recommend 8 mins at 375 and the cookies came out quite dry. Perhaps a minute or so shorter bake time and they would have been just right. Good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I had NEVER before baked from scratch, and after reading through many recipes and reviews, chose Mary's sugar cookies for my first experiment. I read through a lot of the feedback, which was really helpful. The cookies turned out PERFECTLY, and I was even making "Q" and "C" cookies for some of my loved ones. No cracking, no real difficulty working the dough at all. NOTE: I did roll the dough out between two sheets of waxed paper and THEN put the rolled out dough back into the fridge for a few minutes. Cut out the cookies quickly, while the dough is still good and cold, and it was a breeze! The taste was exactly what I was looking for, classic sugar cookie goodness. I even passed some around to our neighbors. Mary's sugar cookies made this no-bake girl feel like Betty Crocker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States