Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother has made these cookies for years. They are my favorite sugar cookies. I love the hint of almond flavoring. You can also shape this dough in to a log, wrap, chill, and use as a slice and bake cookie. Dip the tops in color tinted sugar--and you have an easy treat for the kids! I also don't think you can really get 5 dozen out of this recipe--unless you roll them out super thin. I usually get about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I bake often and I was pleased to find this easy to use recipe. I did refrigerate my dough overnight and had no problems. This is a tasty easy to use and forgiving dough. I had five grandchildren helping with each step. I did add extra flavoring tho I doubt it was needed. I will add this recipe to my personal collection. P.S. This was a child friendly recipe with just a wee bit of adult help. The wee bit would of course depend on age too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I tried these at Christmas time this year. They weren't terribly difficult to make and the dough was easy to work with (with a well-floured board and rolling pin), but this recipe only made half the amount I thought it should. The taste was okay--a little bland, but better with frosting. They also spread too much during baking, and did not hold their shape very well at all! I don't think I'll make these again; they're just too bland and crumbly. I've tried several sugar cookie recipes from this website, and one of the reviewers said she'd stick to the recipe in BHG for sugar cookie cutouts. Then I tried that recipe as well. I agree with her 100%--BHG's were exactly right, just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Classic sugar cookie. I also tried the sugar cookie drops on this site and prefer Mary's sugar cookies. I frosted with buttercreme frosting from this site. I would not recommend refrigerating overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The Best cutout cookies I've ever made. They melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This recipe is wonderful. I have searched high and low for a no-fail sugar cookie and at last I have found it. When I rolled out the dough I used waxed paper on top to keep the dough from sticking to the rolling pin. Otherwise, the recipe worked great and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I bake every Christmas and was in the search for a new recipe. I love the texture and taste of this cookie. Between "the best rolled cookie" recipe and Mary's, I prefer this one. The only change I would do is to not include the almond extract. I plan to use this recipe for my Christmas giveaways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I just did a weekend long experiment. My daughter and I took 3 sugar cookie recipes and by far this one here was the BEST! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The dough wasn't sticky at all, easy to work with and they are delicous! We topped them with sugar cookie frosting (another recipe we got from this site, which was wonderful too)...this was the best sugar cookie I have ever made! They were really easy to make on the Pampered Chef stones I just got too, perfect cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
These are good, but not all I thought they would be. Im sure its mostly my own fault. I think I rolled them out too thin. I refrigerated the dough overnight and took it out about 2-3 hours before I used it. The dough was VERY flaky and hard to work with. I found them to be VERY bland even with the Pure Almond Extract....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is my absolute favorite recipe for sugar cookies. This is the exact recipe that I got from my mother years ago. Except we frost our cookies with a powdered sugar tinted glaze. We make them for all holidays!! Glad that it's here and hope you will try it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States