Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I bake every Christmas and was in the search for a new recipe. I love the texture and taste of this cookie. Between "the best rolled cookie" recipe and Mary's, I prefer this one. The only change I would do is to not include the almond extract. I plan to use this recipe for my Christmas giveaways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I just did a weekend long experiment. My daughter and I took 3 sugar cookie recipes and by far this one here was the BEST! I followed the recipe exactly as written. The dough wasn't sticky at all, easy to work with and they are delicous! We topped them with sugar cookie frosting (another recipe we got from this site, which was wonderful too)...this was the best sugar cookie I have ever made! They were really easy to make on the Pampered Chef stones I just got too, perfect cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
These are good, but not all I thought they would be. Im sure its mostly my own fault. I think I rolled them out too thin. I refrigerated the dough overnight and took it out about 2-3 hours before I used it. The dough was VERY flaky and hard to work with. I found them to be VERY bland even with the Pure Almond Extract....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is my absolute favorite recipe for sugar cookies. This is the exact recipe that I got from my mother years ago. Except we frost our cookies with a powdered sugar tinted glaze. We make them for all holidays!! Glad that it's here and hope you will try it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I have been using this recipe for years and they always turn out perfect. My grandchildren love to decorate and eat them. This is just a wonderful recipe. Frosting with a little almond extract is a great topping for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I did not enjoy working with this recipe. I did not find the dough easy to work with and I did not get very many cookies from the dough. I had to switch to a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This has been my favorite sugar cookie recipe for many years. It's right out of my 1988 Betty Crocker cookbook. The hint of almond flavoring is delicious and the powdered sugar gives it a great texture. Try it! I'm about to make a batch of Valentine cut-outs right now. Great with frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I took these cookies to work for Christmas. The other teachers were so impressed that they begged me to bake more (for $6 a dozen). My kids and I ended up baking over 25 dozen...a tidy sum at Christmastime. We iced them in pretty colors using icing made with powdered sugar, food coloring, a little almond extract and milk. I put about a teaspoon of almond in 1/4 cup of milk and add it a little at a time to several bowls of sugar, squirting with coloring before I stir. Add more milk mixture or sugar to get the desired texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
My preschool kids enjoyed baking these cookies. The recipe makes nice light cookies. The only issue I had is that the cookies can be flakey. This can be a problem if you are trying to frost them. We ended up drizzling icing over them instead. The almond extract and powdered sugar are a great change from the typical sugar cookie recipe. I'm sure we will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe was given to me by a friend three years ago who has long since moved out of State. I wrote it down on an envelope and lost it this past year and have been trying to find it again since it has been a family favorite! I have used this recipe for numerous projects at school for Valentines Day as a room mom, soccer parties, at home for any given holiday and bake sales, etc. I have found that it is better to use the dough directly after mixing due to ease of use. It is a firm cookie when baked, but flaky. It is a GREAT cookie for kids to decorate since they are not "soggy" in texture and hold up very well to little hands. They have wonderful flavor! I also bake my cookies for 12 min. instead of 8 or until the edges are a golden brown. We like the golden edges better and have noticed that they have almost a "spritz" like flavor. This is one recipe that I am happy to have back! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States