Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
You can't go wrong with this recipe. My 3 year old and I love to decorate these soft cookies. I have made them thin AND thick and they still turn out wonderful. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, but I omitted the almond extract. After refrigerating for a little under 4 hours, I could not get these out of the bowl. When they warmed up enough to move, they tore and flaked like crazy when I tried to roll them. I desperately tried to add a little moisture, but ended up with a big crumbly mess all over my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Did you hear that? That was the sound of me losing my mind because these cookies were so hard to roll out. I noticed the dough seemed crumbly before I had even added the full amount of dry ingredients, so I didn't add the rest of the flour. After I had chilled it and tried to roll it out, it kept breaking apart and was really REALLY difficult to roll, even after I had let it sit out and get warm. The taste was good enough, and I liked that it used powdered sugar since that was all I had on hand yesterday, but it was so tough to get it rolled and make shapes that wouldn't fall apart that I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is truly a great recipe for sugar cookies. I refrigerate the dough for 2-3 hours and it is so easy to work with. The cookies are tender and taste great! I use a confectioners sugar glaze. Also, kids love to make and eat these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother has made these cookies for years. They are my favorite sugar cookies. I love the hint of almond flavoring. You can also shape this dough in to a log, wrap, chill, and use as a slice and bake cookie. Dip the tops in color tinted sugar--and you have an easy treat for the kids! I also don't think you can really get 5 dozen out of this recipe--unless you roll them out super thin. I usually get about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I bake often and I was pleased to find this easy to use recipe. I did refrigerate my dough overnight and had no problems. This is a tasty easy to use and forgiving dough. I had five grandchildren helping with each step. I did add extra flavoring tho I doubt it was needed. I will add this recipe to my personal collection. P.S. This was a child friendly recipe with just a wee bit of adult help. The wee bit would of course depend on age too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I tried these at Christmas time this year. They weren't terribly difficult to make and the dough was easy to work with (with a well-floured board and rolling pin), but this recipe only made half the amount I thought it should. The taste was okay--a little bland, but better with frosting. They also spread too much during baking, and did not hold their shape very well at all! I don't think I'll make these again; they're just too bland and crumbly. I've tried several sugar cookie recipes from this website, and one of the reviewers said she'd stick to the recipe in BHG for sugar cookie cutouts. Then I tried that recipe as well. I agree with her 100%--BHG's were exactly right, just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Classic sugar cookie. I also tried the sugar cookie drops on this site and prefer Mary's sugar cookies. I frosted with buttercreme frosting from this site. I would not recommend refrigerating overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The Best cutout cookies I've ever made. They melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This recipe is wonderful. I have searched high and low for a no-fail sugar cookie and at last I have found it. When I rolled out the dough I used waxed paper on top to keep the dough from sticking to the rolling pin. Otherwise, the recipe worked great and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States