Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Some of the tastiest sugar cookies I've ever made. These literally melt in your mouth. Thanks for taking time out to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe! The dough was dry but, I do not mind that. I just add water a little at a time until it is right. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These are OK. If your looking for puffy and soft cut-out cookies I'd keep looking. The flavor is great. Maybe I'll keep this in mind for a sandwich cookie or something!?! The dough is very hard to work with. It crumbles easily, so roll out between wax paper. I hope everyone else has better luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I'm so happy to see this posted - it's from the Betty Crocker Cookie Book that my mom had way back in the 60s. I have since been able to get a copy because it's back in print, but my recipe card with this recipe is really well used and I have no intention of getting rid of it! These cookies are the ones that my family looks especially forward to...I didn't have time to do them last year and they were so disappointed! Now, even my nieces are making them for their own families, carrying on a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this recipe is okay. It takes at least a cup more flour than is listed. I would not bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made these this morning and I got 2 dozen plus 4 cookies from it. Granted the size of the cutters and the thickness you roll it out to will make the count vary. I had no almond extract so I used extra vanilla (Which I love anyway) but I did find that I needed to add more liquid to turn it in to any kind of dough. I had no milk so I added about 3 or so Tablespoons of apple cider and presto! Cookie dough! I did NOT chill it as it was just right to handle right then. They baked up well in a 35o' oven. Without frosting, they have a nice flavor to go along with a hot cup of tea, but I am a frosting freak so I will frost the rest. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These cookies were a big success with my friends. I didn't have almond extract, but as it was Halloween I put in a little Pumpkin Pie spice which made for a nice flavour. Not too sweet, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIECHICK
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This is my first departure from our family recipe for thin cut-outs which I usually prefer. These cookies had a very nice flavor and were best not over browned. I use a baking stone and they seemed best at 7-8 minutes. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
For not having to roll out, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Perfect recipe! These made the perfect cookies--soft without being chewy, with a lovely melt-in-your-mouth texture. I topped with buttercream icing and they were terrific, I love the almond flavor. I'm not sure why some have had problems with this recipe but I would say to make sure the powdered sugar you measure is already sifted, rather than taking a cup and a half of packed powdered sugar and THEN sifting it, or you could end up with too much. And to keep them soft make sure you don't roll them out too thin, these do need to be rolled out a bit thicker than most sugar cookies. The only problem I had was that this didn't make anywhere NEAR as many cookies as the recipe said it would, but the ones I did have were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States