Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a good sugar cookie. The dough is very easy to work with and did not get dry or crack. I like the faint almond taste and the cookies stayed nice and soft even when left uncovered. The taste was not quite as sweet as I would have hoped, but this was helped with frosting! I use the Sugar Cookie Frosting recipe on this site (submitted by Kathy Brandt). I'm still looking for that "perfect" sugar cookie, but this was certainly not a disappointment and I'm glad I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
liked the fact that these are not overly sweet on their own, so they are a great recipe to ice. Liked the hint of almond; dough was very easy to work with and stayed firm. Only thing I found was that this dough needs to be handled very little. With too much handling, they can be a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Just great! They come out flaky and delicate - almost a cross between pie crust and cake. Very nice flavour. I used orange instead of almond and it was great. Would add a pinch less baking soda and cream of tartar next time, but that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekkah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
The dough was hard to work with even when chilled to specifications. I didn't have almond extract so I used coconut extract instead. Flavour was buttery and not too sweet. Tastes better when frosted. Not one of my favourite cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravitydroppings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Moore
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Not my favorite choice in a recipe. The dough was fairly easy to work with with little cracking when rolling out. I felt the taste of the cookies were plain with little or no taste at all. But, not the worst either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Moore
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Let me just sum it up in one word...."PERFECT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These cookies are delicious - crisp and the almond extract lends a wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I just sprinkled with colored sugar since I didn't have time to frost - they are great just like that! Not too overly sweet, but tender and crisp! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
The beautiful photo by What A Dish encouraged me to bake these and they were beautiful. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These are awesome! The consistancy was great and so was the flavor. They didn't last long enough to get frosted. I didn't have the cream of tartar so instead of the baking soda and cream of tartar I sub'd in 1 1/2 tsp baking powder. I now have all listed ingrediants so I'll be making another batch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made these last night for my family christmas party and they tasted heavenly. They have the best flavor and just melt in your mouth. I love how this calls for powdered sugar and no granulated. It seriously gives this the best texture. I refrigerated the dough for 2 hours before rolling and cutting and had no trouble at all. they turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States