Mary's Roasted Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm ashamed of how long it's taken me to review this, considering how often I make the recipe. This is perfection in hot-dip form. EVERYONE asks me for the recipe when I serve this at parties (and yes, I do give credit!). The changes I make to the recipe are minimal. I up the onion to 2 tbs, I up the garlic to 2 cloves. I decrease the mustard to 1 tbs (I find it makes the dip a little too sharp with 2 tbs) and I add a big dash of hot sauce. Not a big difference, in the grand scheme of things. My Mother-in-Law called me from the grocery store recently because she was having difficulty finding the roasted red peppers. If you do, as well, they're usually located by either the olives and pickles or they're located by the "fancy" canned goods (like marinated mushrooms, etc), depending on the store. The only other note is that I can only find a 12oz jar of the roasted red peppers. I usually use most of it (scraping off any charred skin left on the peppers) and just snack on any leftovers while waiting for the dip to come out of the oven. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
My friends and I really enjoyed this dip. Based on previous reviews I made a few changes: used 2 tablespoons of dry minced onions, used 4 cloves cloves of minced garlic, used 2 cups of shredded monterey jack / colby jack cheese and added a half cup of shredded parmesan cheese. I prepared the dip in two Pyrex 5 X 7" dishes and cooked them approximately 25 minutes. I plan on making this for many upcoming parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I have a recipe similar to this using artichokes instead of the peppers. The sweetness of the roasted peppers compared to the saltiness of the artichokes makes this a completely different dip however. I added extra garlic, several chopped jalepenos, and about 1/2 c. of parmesan cheese. The combination of sweet peppers, salty cheese, and spicy jalepenos is extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Fabulous recipe to tinker with as you please and still have it turn out great. I had a cheddar/jack mix, so I used that, and I used 1/2c mayo/1/2c sour cream to cut down on grease, and I didnt have dijon mustard, so I used Cleveland Stadium mustard (its a brown mustard) and my guests loved it--said it was a definite keeper. Also added a bit of horseradish, and only the 7 oz jar of peppers. Served with Frito scoops. So, this recipe is not too sensitive--you can substitute, and it still turns out as a crowd pleaser. Very easy and quick to make, and goes over very well. I quickly patted excess liquid from my roasted peppers to make sure there wasn't too much liquid, and it turned out excellent. Definite keeper. Think it would go well served in bread bowl with bread pieces or with cut up pieces of bagel. Very versatile as to type of chip/bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Good if you like mustard-flavored mayo. I had high hopes for this b/c of the recipe's high rating and the fact that I love red peppers, but to me, the taste of this dip was nothing more than hot mayo and dijon mustard. Ick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was amazing. I prepared it the day before and took it to a friend's house, heated it up and we devoured it. We all loved it and I had to pass out the recipe. I roasted my own bell peppers instead of using the jar. I used 2 but I think 3 would have been even better. Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Everyone loved this dip - especially the teenagers! The only changes I would make would be to use a little less mayo and more cheese. The color was perfect for the Christmas buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Two words: DE-LISH!!! I used lite mayo and 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it was still super creamy. One note: don't rewarm in microwave, it will seperate. LOVE THIS DIP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This dip was very good. I made it for a party and everyone kept telling me how good it was and asked for the recipe. I used hot pepper jack cheese for a little spice. I served it with tortilla chips and small toasted pumpernickel bread squares I am so glad to have found this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This is a solid hit - for company and family. My son keeps asking for this for dinner one of these nights... As the reviewers suggested, I added extra minced onion, 1/2 parmesan and with some reviewers saying it needed additional spice - I added a few chopped jalopenos. It was easy, fast and delicious on bagel chips from the deli section... Everyone enjoy! Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States