Mary's Roasted Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was delicious!! I made it for a dinner party we hosted last night and it was very well received. I cut the recipe in half and it worked out very well. I took a shortcut and when I was using my food processor to grate the cheese, I also grated the onion so nobody got a chunk of onion in a bite of this relatively smooth dip. Next time I might grind up some of the red pepper in the food processor (as well as adding the diced bits) to give the dip a more saturated red color. In the end, really delicious and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Forgetable at best! - it looked like something the cat threw up. I only added 1/2 cup of mayo. Besides that I followed the recipe. After it cooked and I tasted it I added some pepper jack cheese and siracha to try to save it. The add in's made it a little better. I wish I wouldn't have taken it to the Christmas eve party - yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I've been making this dip for a couple of years now and my only change is to use less mayo and mustard, but we LOVE this dip! It always gets good reviews with guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this recipe as is and received tons of compliments at a recent party. I'll definitely be making it again and might try some other raters' suggestions such as using some pepper jack cheese or adding some hot sauce. Thanks for a great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandeen Gemanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
One of our favorite dips for Sunday afternoon football games. I've also served it over the holidays -- the red peppers add that burst of color I like to see at that time of year. Over time, I've decreased the mayo to 3/4 cup and double the red peppers. Usually use pita chips for dipping (it doesn't matter whether they're store bought or homemade!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I thought this dip was good but very rich...You can't eat too much of it before you are satisfied. The people i served it to thought it was decent but it did not get rave reviews except from my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Super simple. There were no leftovers. I felt like I could have added a little more roasted red peppers. I really like the sweetest of the red peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I don't mean to be a fuddy duddy, but I was really disappointed with this dip. The flavor is nice - like others, I also doubled the garlic and added more minced onion. I added a bit of cayenne for a little bite. What really needed modified was the mayo. One cup of mayonnaise is WAY too much; it essentially ruined it. That much mayo made it very, very oily. The presentation was awful. If I made this again, I would cut the mayo to 1/2 c. at the most. I would possibly even skip it all together and let the cream cheese give the moisture to the recipe. I would probably add more red pepper, too. The red pepper flavor seemed to get lost. This is probably a nice base recipe, but it definitely needs some kick added to it and the mayo cut in half - at least. And yes, more red pepper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was extremely good! I served it in a croustini breadbowl. I used reduced fat cream cheese and low fat mayo. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is an excellent dip, I used reduced fat cream cheese and mayo, still turned out delic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States