Mary's Pecan Crusted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yum, yum, yum! This was just great! I made it awhile ago and forgot about it, just came across the recipe again today while looking for something to do with boneless chicken breast (getting so bored with chicken). I remember having a little bit of a hard time getting the coating to stay on the chicken while cooking, it kind of falls of when you turn it. I think I may make it as chicken strips tonight and put a little more oil in the pan so I dont have to turn it as much. Be careful with your heat! Needs to be hot enough to fry, but low enough not to burn your pecans. Be sure to flatten the chicken or you'll need to cook too long and your pecans will burn. Will serve it tonight with a spinach salad and basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
After reading the reviews I made a couple of modifications. Sugar in the crust maybe the cause of all the 'burning' combined with high heat. First I pounded out the chicken into thin 1/2 inch pieces. I used 'ground' not chopped pecans for a crust that stuck when coated. Just grind pecans in food processor. I added 1/4tsp ground ginger and eliminated the sugar. I also just brown the chickens on both sides in a med-high pan then finish chicken off in a 350 degrees F oven for about 15-20 min (depending on thickness of chicken). For a finish I made a Honey-Dijon glaze...yummy. 1/2 cup chicken broth, 3 tbsp honey, 2 tbsp Dijon mustard and 1 tsp fresh ground ginger. Combine in sauce pan and bring to boil, continue on med-high heat until mixture has reduced by 1/2. Spoon lightly over chicken prior to serving...it will thicken as it cools so make ahead if you like a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannaBgourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Just made this dish last night… It rocked! Not only did it taste wonderful, but also the cinnamon in the mix made it smell delightful as it cooked. The only tip I have is to defiantly head the suggestion of not letting your pecans burn… and they will burn quick if you are not careful. I used chicken tenders rather than the full breast and turned them often to avoid burning. I’ll make this dish again but for now, I can’t wait until lunch to eat the leftovers (only possible because I made a lot)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLIEVSAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I've made this twice and I cut down on the cinnamon and liked it better. Overall - a nice chicken variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
My many thanks to Mary for her Pecan Crusted Chicken recipe. I cooked it for dinner tonight and my husband and I both loved it. I fried it in a covered frying pan, and it browned just right. The pecans stayed on the chicken and there was no burning. I will definitely be using this recipe again. I did eliminate the cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This is a cool recipe...it was really quick and easy to make. I substituted almonds for pecans, and it was just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This recipe was FANTASTIC! Simple and easy. My advice though is to make sure your chicken is not too thick because it cooks quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I usually bake my boneless chicken breasts, and these were quicker and juicier, with a less ordinary flavor. Unfortunately, my kids were turned off by the nuts, but my husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
What can I say? I had to write down the recipe for a friend. I made it just as it called, but the next time (yes, the next time)I'm using brown sugar. What a treat! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I made this according to recipe, and everyone loved it. (Although I didn't get a reesponse from my nut-hating brother.) I fried up each of the breasts individually because I felt they needed my full attention, and it ended up taking way too long to cook. If I make these again, I'll double them up and perhaps be more satisfed. The crust had a nice nutty flavor. I used half pecans and half almonds. Paired with the Asparagus Casserole I, it was filling and entirely satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States