Mary's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My husband loved this! Best meatloaf that I have made by far. I substituted 1/2 c of oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is the best meatloaf ever! My children love it. It stays together so well that I put it in a large roasting pan and cook quartered potatos around it.The potatos cook in the sauces that run from the meatloaf. DELICIOUS!! Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is the best meatloaf recipe I have tried to date. My husband even loves it and he used to hate meatloaf. Like another reviewer I used ground pork and veal in addition to the ground beef. I increased the onions to two and sauteed them in olive oil first. I also used potato bread instead of white, added a tbsp of dried parsley, and used only 2 tbsp of brown sugar for the topping and found it was plenty sweet. This is my only meatloaf recipe from now on. Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENNJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was EXCELLENT. I don't even like meatloaf and I loved this. My huband ate it up....2 big helpings. I didn't cook it for 2 hours, I have a VERY hot oven, so I only cooked it for a little over an hour. If I had gone 2 hours, it would have been dry. I also waited 30 minutes, then put the glaze on, to reduce burning. I used Splenda brown sugar blend to reduce calories, and it was great. Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Sooo good! I used the store packaged meatloaf mixture (equal parts ground beef, veal, and pork) instead of all ground beef. For everything else I followed the recipe exactly. The 2 hour baking time threw me at first (since every other recipe I've ever used has been 1 hour) but it was perfect. It came out moist and delish instead of the charred meatbrick I'd been imagining. It does have a slightly orange-ish color (from the mustard/ketchup), which I suppose could be somewhat disconcerting for people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
very good,everyone thought it was the best meatloaf they ever had. I use a meatloaf mix of veal, beef ,and pork. Also I used 3 cloves of finely chopped garlic rather than powder Also added some finely chopped green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This will be my new meatloaf recipe. Meatloaf was very good, moist, and easy. I used about 1-1/2 t. of Lawry's seasoning salt instead of plain salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent meatloaf Mary! This is delicious and moist with a nice tangy brown sugar glaze. I used about 1/4 cup of chopped onion and Italian-style bread crumbs instead of white bread. I also used dijon mustard instead of yellow. I garnished the top with with a bit of dried parsely and put it in the oven at 400 for about 50-55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Instead of using a regular loaf pan I used two mini loaf pan so I could freeze one for later. I did cut back on the cooking time as to not overcook. I added some italian seasonings (parsley, basil, oregano) and used 1/2 lb. fresh sage sausage in place of the 1/2 lb. of beef to give more flavor. Another good meatloaf recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This recipe was easy to make and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States