Mary's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have this recipe in a cookbook I got 64 years ago, when I got married. The only difference is there is 1/4 tsp nutmeg in the topping.5 stars. phyllix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
If you think this recipe is great, try substituting crushed corn flakes for the bread. I used a little less than a cup of crushed corn flakes. Served this to company and they just about fell out of their chairs! Raved about it the entire time they were here visiting. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Wow! This is almost exactly how I make my meatloaf. I have never tried the brown sugar mixture on top, but I think I will next time I make meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is exactly the way my mom always made it and a favorite of mine that I keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayette, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Instead of the bread, I add 1 to 2 cups of frosted flakes and a dash of Worcestershire to the mixture. Adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Try using a box of stove top stuffing instead of bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My mama was a great cook and I grew up eating this very same recipe. Perfect Meatloaf. This is what a meatloaf should taste like..... Even better tomorrow .. If there's any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
We liked it. Good flavor but will adjust the glaze, too sweet for our tastes. It was not as firm as we like, but because not all white breads are made equal, I will be trying it again with different bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Humanoid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Super tasty. I loved the topping. I used 2 lbs ground beef so I added a bit more ketchup and mustard to the loaf ingredients. But it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
made this meatloaf tonight for dinner, it was fabulous !!! followed the recipe as is but did add a glaze to the top, 1/3c. ketchup, 1T spicy brown mustard, and 2T brown sugar, mix that up and pour over top then bake as stated, my husband had thirds it was so good, definitely a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States