Mary's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Meatloaf is my husband's favorite so I've been looking for a great meatloaf recipe...I FINALLY FOUND IT!!!! My hubby loved it. This will be my go to meatloaf recipe from now on. I may just try bread crumbs instead of white bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My fiancé and I had some slices of bread that were about to expire so we found this recipe. It was amazing and we look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Wow...thought my meatloaf recipe was good. But this was quite a bit better. Made this a little bit differently. But followed the recipe for the most part. Used 2 pounds of ground beef and added red potatoes with onions...had to stir the potatoes around a bit so they wouldn't dry out. Added some garlic pepper (It's the Italian in me). Tasted stupendously. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hdcowboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrop, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Too much mustard for my liking. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I had been a loyal Campbell's tomato soup meatloaf maker until I found this recipe. After making this recipe several times and coming out perfect each time no matter how I adjusted it for lack of ingredients it was superb! I gave it for stars for personal taste. The brown sugar made it a little too sweet so I just use ketchup on top. Texture has always been perfect and overall a hit at my house. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I didnt have but a pound of lean ground beef so I used that and I forgot to add the milk.Also used one pkg of stove top instead of bread crumbs. Cooked it for 1hr on 350 and it turned out wonderful I used 4tlb of brown sugar it made it taste like sticky candy on top and one cup of the ketchup perfect amount for the top of the loaf this is very yummie and very sweet so maybe I will use three Tlb of the brown sugar next time thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Mine came out dry; next time I will double or triple the amount of ketchup mixed into the loaf & also double the amount of sauce for the top! Good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissytank

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe, was very worried at first but it turned out awesome! I'm Celiac (Gluten Free) so I altered it a bit. I added 2 pieces of Dempster's Gluten Free Whole Grain bread, with 1/4 cup of Gluten Free Bread crumbs and some milled flaxseed to keep it healthy. I love onion so I cut up a whole onion then added 1/2 tsp of onion powder. For the coating I only added 1/2 tsp of brown sugar because I saw other people comment that topping was too sweet and added 1/2 tsp of chicken and rib bbq sauce. I also added 1/3 tsp of honey mustard to the beef mixture, and 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce. Everyone loved it and couldn't even tell it was Gluten Free :) highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious and easy. I did all of my prep while the baby slept; kept it in the fridge; slathered the topping on and threw it in the oven on the way out the door to dance class (my husband stayed at home with the loaf); then walked in the house to the best smelling meal! And with two minutes to spare on the timer. The meatloaf wasn't dry at all, even though two hours seemed like a crazy amount of time. And the topping wasn't burnt to a crisp like I worried it would be (I guess because the 350 temp wasn't too high). I used four big potatoes cut into 8ths along the edges of the 9x13 glass dish, and thought they looked dry when I pulled out everything from the oven. I quickly drizzled EVOO on them and sprinkled them with salt, but actually, they really weren't dry. The bottoms of them soaked in the juices (I used a 90/10 ground beef so there were still some juices) and they were cooked perfectly. The whole family (husband, teenager, and baby) ate it up and my husband (not a food lover at all) proclaimed it was "not just okay, not just good, but actually delicious."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We loved this meatloaf. I made the following changes: 1/2 large onion, 3 slices whole wheat bread sliced into small cubes and dampened with water. No milk and added about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to the mix. I have tried this recipe before and my family did not like the mustard/ketchup/sugar mixture for the top of the meatloaf so I just used ketchup. I used a 9X12 pan and put the loaf in the middle and the quartered potatoes around. I basted the potatoes after about 45 minutes. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours only. Nice and moist. Next time I will line the pan with heavy foil and oil it. Very tasty and an easy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States