Mary's Healthier Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
These were VERY good potatoes. But I used Light cottage cheese, Light sour cream, Reduced fat Parmesan cheese and cheddar cheese made from 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I changed this recipe by using raw potatoes which I shredded in my food processor and rinsed with water through a colundar. Then I drained the potatoes and mixed with the sauce, and baked covered for 30 minutes, then uncovered for another 30 minutes. My family liked them a lot. Next time I make them, I think I will top with some corn flake crumbs mixed with parmesan cheese for a little crunch. These are a lot like the hash brown and cheese recipe everyone brings to pot lucks, but much lower in fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I am not going to rate recipe, just comment, because the problems I had may just be because I'm a relatively new cook... "Until tender" on potatoes did not work for me, I boiled for 25 minutes until I thought they were tender and they turned out more like mashed potatoes when I tried to grate them... ten potatoes was too many, and I ended up only using about seven (that's all that would fit in an 8X8 pan) and it came out like runny mush. Also, I think maybe it should get baked for longer. I followed directions but perhaps I should've used the full ten potatoes and crammed them into the pan, and not boiled them for so long, because I ended up tossing this whole dish. But, like I said, it's probably user error. Everybody else that rated loved them, so when making this recipe, don't make the same mistakes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was REALLY good! The cottage cheese does something really wonderful to it!...Thanks, will definately make again..Very healthy too which as a heart patient, I try to look for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great recipe for a LAZY cook like me!! I also switched to a bag of frozen shredded hash browns, added about 1/2 c. of diced onions, and might have slightly cancelled out the non-fat cottage cheese and sour cream by adding about 1/4 c. parm. cheese. Took longer to bake, approx. 40 min. Added a sprinkle of paprika for flavor/color. Great quickie side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I swear I did everything in the recipe to the T and this recipe did not turn out at all. We each took about one fork full. I don't understand it the review I read were not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnoelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Having now tried Yukon Gold Mashed with Shallots recipe on this site, I apologize but have to jump ship. Changed my rating from 4 to 3 stars as for 1 extra gram of fat they are worlds better (a most solid 5). These are good & acceptable as healthier than most & don't need butter, but the other recipe just shines in comparison. Also, I doubt the difference in fiber counts one recipe to the other. I left skins on on the Yukons, so would have more anyway. Still impressed as DH hates cottage cheese, saw it & still liked it! Don't expect to be liked mashed, texture is different. With these I used about 1/4 cup onion, somehow forgot the garlic powder (think would use fresh anyway). Sprinkled very little less fat cheddar on top for color. To save time, cooked potatoes (whole) day before & grated next day (seemed would grate easier). The cayenne is key. Thanks Mary & sorry for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I always have my eye out for low fat recipes, especially those which mimic my old faves. This one does it. For benefit of time we used frozen hash browns and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I came across this recipe during an ingredient search for cottage cheese. I was skeptical, but also had potatoes to use up, so gave it a try. YUM! I thought these potatoes were delicious. I only had about 7 small potatoes, so I cut the rest of the recipe in half and it worked out perfect. There was plenty to feed my family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These were really good. I cooked the potatoes in the microwave until firm; about 15 minutes. I made this recipe for 2 people and it said use 4 potatoes, but I used 2 and it was still too much for two people. I needed to cook it a lot longer than suggested, which really screwed up the meal I had planned because it would have all been done at the same time. Still, the potatoes had a really good flavor. My roommate wouldn't eat them because they weren't done all the way (got tired of waiting), but I will definitely make these again, and maybe try cooking them in the oven completely like another review suggested. I used nonfat cottage cheese and nonfat sour cream, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States