Marylyn's Cheese Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Just the filling I was looking for! I was not able to find farmers cheese, but used a neufchatel cheese, which is suppose to be the american equivilent. I used my own crepe recipe that was very similar. They turned out beautifully with fresh blueberries and rhubarb sauce. They were a great breakfast start to our New Year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sal pal
Home Town: Orcas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
these are great the kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Homer is King
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was a stretch for my level of cooking but I really enjoyed the learning process! I had never made crepes before and it took a little practice to get them to come out right. The trick I found was to use a VERY lightly buttered / oiled pan. I couldn’t find farmers cheese so I used unripened goats milk cheese. It has the same consistency as farmers cheese but as it turns out it is a little more tart. If using this cheese again I’d add a little more sugar to compensate. With everything made I was now ready to roll up some blintzes! I had a tough time getting them to stay together. I googled some blintz images and saw that a lot were made into square pockets instead of rolls. I put a dab of filling in the middle of the crepe, folded the sides in and then folded in the top and bottom. I found it much easier than rolling and it stayed together a lot better, plus I could get a lot more filling in them this way! I tried frying a couple up right away but this was a mistake. They flopped open in the pan. I let the others sit for a bit and they firmed up nicely and were much easier to fry. All in all a great recipe and the end product was delicious. I’ll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The blintz filling in this recipe is great! (I used another French crepe recipe I already had.) We had a family breakfast after Christmas, and everyone enjoyed these, with canned blueberry pie filling, and my favorite, raspberries! I used cream cheese in place of the farmers cheese and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very easy recipe to follow. I've been using this recipe for a couple of years now. I found that it's best to use very little butter when cooking the crepes. I buttered the pan for the first one and never used butter again. It's easiest to pan fry them seam side down first so they don't pop open. My family loves them with strawberries and whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
A very good blintz recipe. Filling was smooth, creamy, with a touch of sweetness. And the crepe recipe is a good, basic one. Easy even for beginners once you do 1 or 2 of them to get the feel for it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Fun to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made another crepe recipe, but used the filling in this recipe. I added an additional tablespoon sugar and an additional teaspoon vanilla, plus a dash of cinnamon, and it was delicious!! My son, who is a huge blintz fan and one of my critics, loved them. Topped with strawberry sauce and whipped cream made them restaurant quality. This is a great basic cheese filling that can be tweaked in many ways. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe for Cheese Blintzes is delightful... I had to modify it a little for our gluten-free diet, but not difficult at all ~ using a gluten-free flour blend. Very tasy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States