Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
AWESOME!!! I travel to Maryland several times a year and look forward to at least one bowl of soup. NOW I CAN MAKE IT AT HOME!! I order the crab with my butcher and OH HOW GOOD AND EASY! Tasted like I was sitting in my favortie restaurant in Maryland - only better because I had more crab!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This is my recipe, somehow the cubed potatoes went missing from the ingredients. Sorry. If you are from Maryland you should increase the Old Bay, Others may not have the palate for that much spice/seasoning. When time permits, I start with homemade beef stock. It is all the better. Don't forget, it is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I have been looking for a Maryland crab soup recipe for so long. This is IT!!!! It tasted almost exactly like the soup from Philips Crab House in Maryland and also available in the frozen dept. of the market. I used lump crab instead of blue and left out the claws. The only thing I would change is to add the cubed potatoes it seems to be missing. It was wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was absolutely the best Maryland Crab Soup recipe I have ever made. The taste was truly authentic. I did, however, follow the advise of one other reviewer and added potatoes to the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Excellent soup. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
A quick and easy recipe to make. It only took 30 minutes to prepare and yummy, yummy! Taste like the best I've had in restaurants. I did change some of the ingredients though. I eliminated the lima beans (don't care for them) and used the carrots and corn to make up the difference. I also used 24 ounces of crab meat instead and WOW!, was it good. This recipe will be added to my favorite soups list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe is GREAT! And so easy and fast. We're originally from Baltimore and it tastes like the soup back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for crab soup. I am from MD and can get this in restaurants but have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I do add some extra things, like chopped cabbage, potatoes, and birds eye frozen mixed vegs. I don't like lima beans so I leave them out. The extra veggies make the soup take longer to cook but it is really DELICIOUS! **Try not to use pasteurized or canned crab meat or it will give the soup a "fishy" taste. Fresh crab meat works the best (if you can find it in your area).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I made this recipe for my father's 60th birthday party and everyone went nuts over it!! They said it was like an "old world recipe." If only they knew how easy it was! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great recipe. I added a few more veggies. I thought it looked a little slim. I'm glad I did, it definately would have been to much crab meat per bite if I hadn't. What a great soup. We are from the Eastern Shore and everyone agreed this was the best crab soup they ever had. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States