Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious! I followed the advice of another poster and added 1/3 a cup of brown sugar and about tripled the amount of Old Bay and it made a HUGE difference in the taste..gives it a richer flavor. Also, adding actual pieces of steamed crab is a great addition, and really adds to the soups flavor. The soup will taste better the day after you make it, so you may want to refrigerate it immediatly and then have it for a meal the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty good. I let it cook in the crockpot for a long time (36 hours) to give it a less watery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow!! This soup is fabulous. I made a few changes based on what other reviewers suggested: added celery, sauteed onion, celery and carrots in some olive oil prior to adding other ingredients, also added potatos. My husband went to school in Annapolis, MD so he has had his share of MD Crab Soup - this rivals the best of them and he can't stop raving. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I really did not like this recipe at all. It had very little flavor and I had to add so much more seasonings. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was my first attempt at MD crab soup, and I was very pleased! Froze it in bowls and it heats up marvelously for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Yashinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe and everyone loves it. I do modify it a bit by adding tomato juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is almost identical to the recipe my family has used for years. One of the main differences is that I add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 Tbsp. of Worchestire sauce. It may sound strange but it really gives it a "richer" flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
i ahve made this recipe before . and i am originally from maryland. the best soup ever!! spicy yet tasteful n delicous!!!! thanks for the help on remembering what all goes in it!!! love the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe...I live in Maryland and crab soup is our specialty. This was fantastic and I added some leftover crab claws that were already covered in old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We live in MD and I have been searching for a good crab soup recipe. This is fantastic and best of all, easy to prepare. I omitted the lima beans and added celery instead. I also added more Old Bay and a dash of crushed red pepper to give it some extra zing. I'll definitely be making this one for friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States