Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I simply LOVE this soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband prefers this with a bit more liquid in it, so instead of 3 cups of water, we toss in the full gallon of water. Sub in peas for lima beans and use 1.5 to 2 cups of each vegetable to bulk things up a little. Other ingredients are multiplied by roughly a factor of 2, and we use the cheapest crab we can find (honestly, it doesn't make much difference in the soup, so why not go cheap?). Wonderful soup, and easy enough that my husband can make it all by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome awesome recipe. I was looking for a recipe to use because I lost track of measurements for my old recipe and this one is a keeper! I live on the Chesapeake Bay and trust me when I say people will let you know if this soup is not right! Just remember to use lump crab meat, okra and LOTS of old bay!!!! :-) The old bay is the key to happiness with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Delish! Tastes just like a Chesapeake Bay restaurant crab soup. Other recipes I tried have tomato soup as a base and it just didn't cut it. I added a large potato in small diced pieces, a bay leaf, bagged frozed mixed veggies and extra Old Bay seasoning. LOVE IT! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I saulted the onions and substituted lima beans for green beans. I used all the beef broth and just added a few more vegtables then specified to thicken the soup a little. I used fresh carrots and onion and frozen green beans and corn. I didn't measure anything. My husband said it was the best thing I've made EVER! I was shocked how well it turned out myself! It only took 30 minutes to cook and tasted as good as a restraunt!!! This recipe is a keeper:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I grew up near the Chesapeake Bay and I think this soup didn't taste anything like Maryland crab soup. The broth was bland and had no depth whatsoever. Really good crab soup includes some shredded cabbage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Freedom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I'm more of a cream of crab kind of girl so I wasn't jumping up and down over this one. My husband liked it. I would probably add potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great MD crab soup. I use basically the same ingredients. Instead of so much water try using half V8 or tomato juice. Makes for a heartier broth. We use the same basic recipe to make a seafood chowder also. Just add some cut up steamed shrimp, clams, muscles etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpowder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a real deal for good crab soup and that is coming from someone in Baltimore who has made crab soup from scratch! I did crush and cook the tomatoes, Old Bay and onions separately for 15 mins before adding the vegetables and then the crab meat. Cooking for another 15. Next time, think I'll add a bay leaf and 1-2 tablespoons of Worcestershire Sauce to add some more depth to the broth. If you want to "bump up" the crab taste you can throw the uncooked crab claws into the soup to cook as opposed to cooking them separately. That's how cooks do it in Maryland when cooking crab soup from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent and quick..the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States