Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was not impressed by this at all. I followed the recipe and I thought it was bland. I added a splash of cayenne pepper and that helped a little. I feel this was a waste of crab meat. Perhaps with some experimenting it could work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Simple,easy awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I hate people who change recipes and then review, but I did make many changes based on other reviews. I used 2 cans of low-sodium beef broth as the base (and no water at all), added some shredded cabbage, 2 medium red potatoes (diced), celery, used only one can of stewed tomatoes and mashed them slightly, and one (14.5oz) can of crushed tomatoes. I added Worcestershire and brown sugar to taste. I used a small can of corn, small can of peas, and regular sized can of green beans (all drained - and low-sodium where I could find them). I REALLY wanted to try the soup, even though crabs are out of season. I used 8oz of Phillips claw meat and 8oz of Phillips 'special.' The soup was SUPERB and we'll be eating leftovers tonight. *****And yes, I live in Maryland.*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
i jus got done making it and its good.love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
really tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I too am from Maryland, and had leftover crabs to make soup with. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies, 3 c of beef broth -- and the leftover claws from yesterday's steamed crabs. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Gives a good base so you can make it your own. So as a native of Southern Maryland I had to change it up a bit. I cut the water in half (or you wouldn't be able to find the crab meat). Added 2 cans of tomato soup, 3 diced white potatoes, 1/2 tsp sugar, salt and pepper, ground cayenne pepper, about a tbsp of Franks's hot sauce and more old bay (we like spicy). BTW next time I will go with the diced tomatoes since I cut the stewed in cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Other than using a bag of mixed frozen veggies instead of a cup each of the lima beans, corn and carrots, and leaving out the claws, I followed this pretty closely. I live in MD and every restaurant around here has this soup on the menu. This version is as good as or better than any I've tasted. The key is in using a good quality, fresh crabmeat. I used a lb. of backfin. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Good, quick low calorie supper. Would try adding a potato next time as suggested by others to make it a bit more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I simply LOVE this soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States