Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I'm part of a Notre Dame club and our trip this past year was to see them play Navy at Baltimore, MD. I made this recipe for our tailgate party and it was the hit of the day. I changed the amount cooking for to 30 servings and instead of 3 lbs of crab I used 4 lbs. Almost everyobdy that tried it said that it was the best MD crab soup they've have. We're from near the Philly area so most people have tried this type of recipe. I think it will be made for our superbowl party...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbellc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Scrum diddly umptious. I added about twice the Old Bay and kicked it up a notch with some cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was my first attempt at making soup and it was winner! I used the frozen veggies instead and it worked out perfect, and it was much easier. I also used crabs that I picked, including the seasoning & 'mustard'. I left the Old Bay on the claws too. I made cheddar garlic biscuits from this site, oh and it was even better the second day! I even froze some for when I need a fix later in the season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenAroundTheWorld
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I did the photo for this soup. I used green beans and petite and regular diced tomatoes instead of the lima beans and stewed tomatoes. Watch the salt level with beef broth (I used cubes and it was a bit salty) and season to taste with Old Bay. Simmer longer for better flavor. This is very similar to the Old Bay recipe listed as well. Being from Maryland and now living elsewhere, this brought me back to home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is the best and easiest tomato-based crab soup I've ever made or eaten. I've made it several times already as we do a lot of crabbing in the summer. I find it much easier to just use a bag of frozen mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This soup is an AMAZING treat for anyone who loves seafood soups. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and a bag of classic mixed frozen veggies (corn, green beans, lima beans, carrots, and peas) instead of the other vegetables (adds up to about 3 cups). Though the crab is expensive, this soup is an impressive treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is a great basic crab soup recipe. I use a variety of veggies (onions, celery, corn, green beans, zucchini)to pack the soup full of good-for-you stuff. I also use leftover steamed crabs and place the claws in the soup with the meat. It gives it a little extra flavor (from the Old Bay seasoning). A true Maryland Crab Soup recipe. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Incredible! My husband was SO HAPPY he had tears in his eyes. He's in love. With me. With you...with this soup. I owe ya one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very good recipe. As being raised on the Patuxent River, I thought it could of used a little more crab meat. The taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States