Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This soup is authentic. I have had Maryland Crab Soup in mant restaurants in Maryland when I lived there. This version ranks with the best of them. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Pretty good. We subbed diced tomatoes for the stewed and zucchini for the limas (no one likes them, I cringe even thinking about them...) anyway, we also liked it better after it simmered a little longer (30+ mins) before adding the crabmeat. It was kinda salty for me, maybe the make a low sodium Old Bay? My boyfriend's grampa had two bowls and everyone complimented while they ate it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Good stuff. I added more Old Bay & used frozen soup veggies, a little black pepper & a clove of garlic. It was awesome & will no doubt be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trezevant, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I'm part of a Notre Dame club and our trip this past year was to see them play Navy at Baltimore, MD. I made this recipe for our tailgate party and it was the hit of the day. I changed the amount cooking for to 30 servings and instead of 3 lbs of crab I used 4 lbs. Almost everyobdy that tried it said that it was the best MD crab soup they've have. We're from near the Philly area so most people have tried this type of recipe. I think it will be made for our superbowl party...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbellc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Scrum diddly umptious. I added about twice the Old Bay and kicked it up a notch with some cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was my first attempt at making soup and it was winner! I used the frozen veggies instead and it worked out perfect, and it was much easier. I also used crabs that I picked, including the seasoning & 'mustard'. I left the Old Bay on the claws too. I made cheddar garlic biscuits from this site, oh and it was even better the second day! I even froze some for when I need a fix later in the season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fallfares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenAroundTheWorld
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I did the photo for this soup. I used green beans and petite and regular diced tomatoes instead of the lima beans and stewed tomatoes. Watch the salt level with beef broth (I used cubes and it was a bit salty) and season to taste with Old Bay. Simmer longer for better flavor. This is very similar to the Old Bay recipe listed as well. Being from Maryland and now living elsewhere, this brought me back to home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is the best and easiest tomato-based crab soup I've ever made or eaten. I've made it several times already as we do a lot of crabbing in the summer. I find it much easier to just use a bag of frozen mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This soup is an AMAZING treat for anyone who loves seafood soups. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and a bag of classic mixed frozen veggies (corn, green beans, lima beans, carrots, and peas) instead of the other vegetables (adds up to about 3 cups). Though the crab is expensive, this soup is an impressive treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States