Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe for crab soup. I am from MD and can get this in restaurants but have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I do add some extra things, like chopped cabbage, potatoes, and birds eye frozen mixed vegs. I don't like lima beans so I leave them out. The extra veggies make the soup take longer to cook but it is really DELICIOUS! **Try not to use pasteurized or canned crab meat or it will give the soup a "fishy" taste. Fresh crab meat works the best (if you can find it in your area).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I have been cooking Maryland Crab Soup for years. It is my all time favorite. This recipe is fabulous. I added more onion, potatoes and substituted in some crushed tomatoes. The crushed tomatoes give the soup a heartier, more robust texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very good! My husband grew up in Baltimore and thought that the idea of lima beans was a bit strange so I omitted those. I did add celery, low sodium beef broth, a cubed potato and extra Old Bay seasoning. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I am also from Maryland and although I made a number of adjustments, this is a very good basic recipe. Here is what changed: I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed (28 oz can), used Birdseye frozen veggies, which has green beans, corn and peas (2 small bags), 1 1/2 cups cubed potatoes, 1/2 cup chopped savoy cabbage, 2 cans (not cups) of beef broth (low sodium), 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 T. Worcheshire sauce. 3 Tablespoons of Old Bay was perfect for me, but for someone who isn't from the area, it might be a little too spicy. I cooked it much longer on low (about 2 hours), but I don't serve it until the next day so all of the flavors can develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is almost identical to the recipe my family has used for years. One of the main differences is that I add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 Tbsp. of Worchestire sauce. It may sound strange but it really gives it a "richer" flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was absolutely the best Maryland Crab Soup recipe I have ever made. The taste was truly authentic. I did, however, follow the advise of one other reviewer and added potatoes to the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I have been looking for a Maryland crab soup recipe for so long. This is IT!!!! It tasted almost exactly like the soup from Philips Crab House in Maryland and also available in the frozen dept. of the market. I used lump crab instead of blue and left out the claws. The only thing I would change is to add the cubed potatoes it seems to be missing. It was wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Good stuff. I added more Old Bay & used frozen soup veggies, a little black pepper & a clove of garlic. It was awesome & will no doubt be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trezevant, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is a great basic crab soup recipe. I use a variety of veggies (onions, celery, corn, green beans, zucchini)to pack the soup full of good-for-you stuff. I also use leftover steamed crabs and place the claws in the soup with the meat. It gives it a little extra flavor (from the Old Bay seasoning). A true Maryland Crab Soup recipe. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is the best and easiest tomato-based crab soup I've ever made or eaten. I've made it several times already as we do a lot of crabbing in the summer. I find it much easier to just use a bag of frozen mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States