Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Love this dish!! I did a few modifications though, I substituted the 3 cups of water down to one and instead added a bottle of bloody mary mix. Went with diced potatos instead of the beans and added 3 teaspoons of Old Bay. The dish came out fantastic, the bloody mary mix gave it a very nice subtle kick to it. I'm thinking of renaming this to "Mary's Bloody Crab Soup"..Whaddya think?..:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadMike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very delicious! I used a carton of beef broth and decreased water to 2 1/2 C. I added a potato and celery and used frozen vegetables for soup. I put it in the crock pot for a few hours. I decided to use the 2 Tbs of Old Bay so that way everyone could decide if they wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Love this dish! Fast, easy, and healthy. To make it really great, changes the two TBs onion to one half small onion, diced. Add one half cup of celery, diced thin. Sautée onion and celery with a Tablespoon of butter until soft. Do this as the first step in the recipe, using the same pot you will be making the soup in. Frozen veggies are fine. I prefer diced tomatoes. The recipe is light on the Old Bay, I use 4 TBs. Add a two shots of of Franks Red Hot Sauce (flavor but not bitter like Tobasco). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of soup. I made some adjustments, but it tasted JUST like what you would get at a seafood restaurant in Maryland! Gave some to my sister and she and her husband loved it as did my 5 year old nephew! I added 3 medium red potatoes, half of a small head of cabbage, frozen mixed veggies (corn, peas, green beans), half a bag of lima beans, and a 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce. I also used a big can of stewed tomatoes and a big can of crushed tomatoes and the entire box of broth. I needed more broth since I was adding more vegetables. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I give it the max stars because it is unusual to get a crab soup recipe that is true to the Baltimore tradition. I agree with others, add cubed potatoes, some crushed tomatoes and even some chopped cabbage to thicken it up. Use low sodium broth if you put the full amount or more of Old Bay. Great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I am also from Maryland and although I made a number of adjustments, this is a very good basic recipe. Here is what changed: I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed (28 oz can), used Birdseye frozen veggies, which has green beans, corn and peas (2 small bags), 1 1/2 cups cubed potatoes, 1/2 cup chopped savoy cabbage, 2 cans (not cups) of beef broth (low sodium), 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 T. Worcheshire sauce. 3 Tablespoons of Old Bay was perfect for me, but for someone who isn't from the area, it might be a little too spicy. I cooked it much longer on low (about 2 hours), but I don't serve it until the next day so all of the flavors can develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I'm from Maryland, and I like to think I have a pretty high standard for crab soup. This was the first time I've ever made crab soup on my own, and this recipe gave me the basics, and I made my own adjustments. The result was an amazing soup. My adjustments were: 1. In addition to the 1 lb crab meat I also used a container of claw meat 2. I used frozen soup veggies to cut down on time 3. I used 3 plus tablespoons of old bay PLUS crushed red peppers for extra spicy soup I'll definitely use this recipe again, but with my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kait

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious! I followed the advice of another poster and added 1/3 a cup of brown sugar and about tripled the amount of Old Bay and it made a HUGE difference in the taste..gives it a richer flavor. Also, adding actual pieces of steamed crab is a great addition, and really adds to the soups flavor. The soup will taste better the day after you make it, so you may want to refrigerate it immediatly and then have it for a meal the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty good. I let it cook in the crockpot for a long time (36 hours) to give it a less watery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow!! This soup is fabulous. I made a few changes based on what other reviewers suggested: added celery, sauteed onion, celery and carrots in some olive oil prior to adding other ingredients, also added potatos. My husband went to school in Annapolis, MD so he has had his share of MD Crab Soup - this rivals the best of them and he can't stop raving. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States