Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I thought this was okay... I did use canned crab (Phillips), so I am sure it would have tasted better with fresh. It was a bit fishy and a little blah... I added a little cayenne after I tasted it, as I thought it needed a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I live in MD and was looking for a good recipe. I did add cubed potatoes and barley. I was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Excellent Recipe! This was a very easy to follow recipe and the end result was very good! I did however use a lil more old bay and I sauteed my onion with a garlic clove in some sherry and worchester sauce then added everthing. Again great recipe Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
All I can say is AMAZING!! We go to Ocean City, MD every year, and I get the crab soup every time I go. I wait an entire year to eat this soup, and now I can make it at home!! THANKS sooo much for sharing this recipe!! I added 2 potatoes and cubed them, and I also added 2 stalks of celery! It is THAT good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k80foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Why is there green beans in the picture, but not in the recipie. What other ingredients are missing. Looks good though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I've never had Maryland Crab Soup before, cripe i've haven't even been to Maryland. I did really like this soup and will make it again in the summer when I sub in some fresh sweet corn and some fresh pacific dungeness crab. I will likely cut a little Old Bay, and add additional beef broth as the broth was delish and a little heat for personal taste. I used canned crab (1.5 lbs and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly) as it was given to me. The whole pot consisting of 14 servings cost me only $ 2.66 to make, frugal indeed, as were the calories. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Frugal Bungler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I enjoyed this soup. Taste even better the next day. I feel it is because the seasonings were able to settle into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great recipe. I took the advice of another reviewer and saute celery and onions in the bottom of the soup pot prior to adding the other ingredients. I used frozen veggie mix that did not include lima beans. I'm from MD and loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
PERFECT!! Very authentic! Like other reviewers, I swapped the lima beans for cubed potatoes. Other than that, it's wonderful as-is. I look forward to making the soup again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is great! I used jumbo lump crabmeat and some extra Old Bay because we love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States