Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is better than what many restaurants serve, and no worse than what a good restaurant serves. I ended up using a bag of frozen soup vegetables and that was fine. Left in the fresh onion, though, and put half the tomato in the blender before adding. What sealed the deal for me: my boyfriend loved it so much that he launched into a stream of expletives. As a note, I am indeed in the Baltimore area; this is my first year here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I just made this tonight and it was FANTASTIC! I have been pining away for this soup for years, ever since I moved away from Delaware. It's rarely featured on inland menus. This was so easy and delicious, I can't believe I have never tried to make it before. I made some variations and will post my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this for Super Bowl and it was a big success. I added 1 cup cubed potato, 2 stalks diced celery, 1 clove chopped garlic and subsituted the vegetables with a bag of frozen corn, carrots, lima bean and green bean mix. Since I could not find fresh blue crabmeat this time of the year, I used canned lump crabmeat. Delicious; will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My family loves this I made a few variations because of the children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I did not have corn, so I added green beans instead. Delicious soup! My granddaughter had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good recipe. We all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I am a caterer and scaled the recipe for 200 servings. Also added potatoes and celery. Everyone absolutely enjoyed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This recipe is spot on. Make sure you use real (non canned) crab meat. I hate lima beans so I left them out and it is perfect (for me) without them. Don't be tempted to use any salt, the Old Bay has plenty of salt in it already. My supermarket has claw meat for sale so I didn't have to cook the claws beforehand. If I ate this at a restaurant, I would rave about it. It is one of the easiest to make recipes I've ever come across. It took about ten minutes to set up. If you were planning a party, you could make this a half hour before the guests arrived if you cooked the claws ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I have lived in Baltimore and the surrounding area for almost 40 years and this is a great, traditional, delicious crab soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Made this over the weekend - and as a Delawarean, I can say, this recipe is right on target for MD crab EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States