Maryland Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tried it for the first time last night. Made my own modifications. Used the suggestions from others- used 1tbsp of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 cup brown sugar- although I think it would've been fine with 2tbsp (mine came out a little too sweet), added cubed red potatoes, 1teaspoon of sriracha, and celery. Next day tasted much better. Forgot the bay leaf next time I'll use that and crushed tomatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I sauteed onion and green pepper in a little butter/magarine first then added the other ingredients. I also used more seasonings for the flavor (garlic, oregano, bay leaves, creole seasoning, salt, pepper, and old bay). About a tablespoon of worchester sauce and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chandra
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Absolutely loved it! I fell in love with Maryland Crab Soup when I moved to Baltimore seven years ago. I had some frozen crab meat and claws from this summer, so thought I'd try making it myself. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and added a potato, some A1 sauce, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I would reduce the sugar just a bit. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Cindy! I will definitely be making it again! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DivaJ
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I did what others suggested by adding 1 tbsp of worchestire sauce, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3 tbsp of old bay. However, I ranked it as 4 stars because it seems like it's lacking something and I can't figure out. Very tasty nonetheless!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
An outstanding recipe. I added about a cup frozen, sliced okra in place of one of the small bags of frozen, mixed vegetables and used a container of fresh, pasturized lump crab meat from the fish counter. My husband is from Baltimore and very particular about his Maryland Crab Soup -- he proclaimed it "absolutely delicious!" Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
As a Maryland native, I have to say this is the genuine article. Simple and easy to make, always a crowd favorite. I add just a few drops of hot sauce to kick it up a bit. GREAT RECIPE THANKS FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jose v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Great recipe, everybody liked it. I made it a few times. The second time I changed a few things and it came out the best. I omitted the Lima beans (both me and the wife didn't think they went with this soup. I added cube potatoes, 2 tbs of brown sugar, a dash of Worcestershire sauce, two stalks of celery diced up and one bay leaf and 3 tablespoons of old bay (we like everything spicy). I also only used beef stock and no water, crush tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes and 1 tea spoon of tomato paste (if you don't have no biggie). At the end of cooking I added two tablespoons of sherry, again if you don't have no biggie but it does go really well with this soup. Just a hint, if you use celery in anything use you peeler on it first, it helps to keep it from not to getting stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I am also from Baltimore and this didn't cut it for me. It was a good start. After I added 2 bay leaves, 1 more T of Old Bay, a little garlic, some red and black pepper, 1 T worchestershire, 1-2 T brown sugar, and a ton more veggies (potatoes, green beans, and peas), did it taste authentic to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just made this yesterday, my first time making crab soup. Also from Maryland so I wanted it to be good! Boy was it ever!! I followed the recipe mostly, using suggestions from other reviewers to tweak it a bit. I omitted the crab claws, added 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. I also used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed. Upped the Old Bay to 3 tablespoons and just used two bags of Birds Eye mixed veggies. It was even better today. Next time I'm doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was not impressed by this at all. I followed the recipe and I thought it was bland. I added a splash of cayenne pepper and that helped a little. I feel this was a waste of crab meat. Perhaps with some experimenting it could work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States