Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I had a dinner party with a bunch of picky people, who all enjoyed this recipe (thankfully!) The only things I would do differently are to 1) use a cookie sheet, not a broiler pan 2) actually remember to lightly grease the cookie sheet and 3) make more. There were 8 people and I scaled the recipe for 10, but it still only came out to about 1.5 crabcakes per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
We love crab cakes and these were delicious! I served them with the Black bean & Corn salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
These crab cakes are as good as the ones I paid $30 per entree for in Atlanta. Super easy to make and low calorie, low fat to boot. It's our special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Here in the UK crab is expensive. So i added some white fish to bulk it out. It worked very well. The cakes were light and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Very nice recipe. My husband prepared it for me this weekend. Only problem was, sometimes I would find a shell piece in my cake! He will get better at it, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I thought these were a bit bland, but I also used canned crabmeat. I might try again with fresh crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I used 3 tablespoons bread crumbs and I used imitation crab meat. Yum! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I personally did not like these, and neither did the person I served them to...I've had a number of crab cakes, but these were not among the more memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I am from Maryland and we DO love our crabcakes!! It is important to use fresh, not canned crabmeat, lump is the best. I know this makes it more expensive but it is the difference between great and boring Mrs. Paul's. Also, I like to add some Old Bay seasoning to spice it up. Be gentle when mixing together the ingredients so you don't break up the sweet lumps of crabmeat, you don't want it to be fine like catfood!! I also like to saute my crabcakes in butter in a skillet rather than broil them, but either way this is a delicious and authentic recipe. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Not restaurant-quality, but a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States