Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made this tonight and they turned out GREAT!!! They tasted like they came straight from the restaurant. I took the advice of others and add Old Bay but no salt or pepper. I used dried parsley since I didn't have any fresh parsley. I'm sure the fresh parsley would have made them even better. I love the fact that they are baked instead of fried, so much healthier. We made sandwiches out of them, like we have eaten them at some restaurants. I can't say enough, these were GREAT (again)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANE116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
1st time making crab cakes and it was a great experience. This turned out really well... This is an easy, tasty recipe. A total of 30-minutes from beginning to end..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I found it dry. I guess I prefer low country style crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEllison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe made the first crab cake I have ever had, and it was delicous! I used fresh crab meat and mixed it into the other ingredients GENTLY to keep the cakes lumpy. I panfried them in butter and served them on split warm rolls for sandwiches. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used this recipe to make crab cakes for the first time ever and they got rave reviews! This had the least amount of bread crumbs and other fillers, and I loved the fact they were broiled and not fried. Thank you for something so simple, yet so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamerica
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
yuuuuuuuuum! easy to make; just follow recipes. eat with tartar sauce! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamerica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We even used imitation crab and this recipe still worked out so well! Pretty easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
i rated these 4 stars because i know i made the mistakes in this one. and i know you guys are going to call me a stupid head. i did not have fresh crab meat. i used canned(because it's what i had). i added old bay seasonings along with the salt and it was way to salty. so omit the salt if using old bay seasonings. other than that, i know if i would have used fresh lump crab meat it would have been great. but it tasted like a salty old salmon patty. had to make a cucumber raita sauce to cool down the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I know this might not be "Maryland like", but so far I've actually preferred this recipe without the Old Bay seasoning because most of the crab cakes I've tried have had too much Old Bay. I did leave out the salt, and added some onion and celery. Broiling (as opposed to frying) also helped keep the calorie count down, and I used olive oil cooking spray and egg substitute to bring it down even further. I also top each one with a sprinkling of panko breadcrumbs, which gives them a little crunch. I loved these, thanks for the great recipe! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Absolutely the best crab cake recipe. I substituted Old Bay seasoning for the hot sauce. This recipe really let the crab flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States