Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I couldn't find fresh crab meat, so I used a nice piece of fresh salmon. I steamed the salmon, and flaked it into small pieces. I didn't have dried breadcrumbs in the pantry so I used oatmeal. I used dried dill in place of the parsley, the only other substitution I made was to use Miracle Whip in place of the mayo. They were tasty, but I don't see what all the fuss is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe, my boyfriend asks me to make these all the time, but I agree with some other reviewers when they say leave the crab meat in lumps, it is much better. Also had to leave them in the fridge to firm...they looked like they would have fallen apart otherwise. I also added some lemon juice. Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe created delicious crab cakes! The end product was juicy, flavorful, and not overpowering nor too mild. Texture was great. I had made two minor substitutions and the result was uncompromised. I had used prepared yellow mustard in place of dry (just use 3X the amt) and dried parsley as opposed to fresh (use 1/3 the amt). Although the original ingredients will probably yield the best crab cakes I was very pleased with the alterations. Two mistakes that I would look out for in the future is to make sure not to use a dark baking sheet (makes the bottoms of cakes brown too quickly) and rotate the pan 180 degrees so the cakes will cook more evenly. Lastly I took other reviewers' suggestion of using 1/4 tsp old bay seasoning in place of the hot sauce. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I never made Crab Cakes before & was very pleased with the outcome ! Used Spicy Ranch dressing as the dipping sauce. Definately a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I have never made crab cakes befor... the recipe was simple and they taste WONDERFUL... Try it... you WON'T be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were just wonderful. I had extra large eggs so I added a little bit more bread crumbs to offset the added moisture from the bigger egg, also dredged the patties in bread crumbs and sprayed with PAM before broiling about 5 minutes on each side with the rack in the middle of the oven. I'll add that fresh chopped parsley really makes this a wonderful crab cake. We very much liked these, especially Hubs who can be picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars only because I heeded the advice of many other reviewers and made some changes. They came out so good and I will definitely make them again and again. I did not shred the crab meat; I left it well-lumped. I used 3 tablespoons of plain bread crumbs. I did not use salt, pepper, or hot sauce. Instead I used 1 teaspoon of Old Bay Seasoning. I used two tablespoons of mayonnaise. I baked them on the center rack for 12 minutes. They didn't need to go to the top rack at the end for a few extra minutes. They came out perfectly browned and crispy on the outside and hot and full of flavor on the inside. I served them with a fresh-made remoulade sauce that I got at my local farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
LOVED This recipe! Actually didnt have enough crab, so I made little crab cake balls out of this recipe! LOVED IT!!! Even the kids gobbled them up!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Perfection! Whole family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States