Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe created delicious crab cakes! The end product was juicy, flavorful, and not overpowering nor too mild. Texture was great. I had made two minor substitutions and the result was uncompromised. I had used prepared yellow mustard in place of dry (just use 3X the amt) and dried parsley as opposed to fresh (use 1/3 the amt). Although the original ingredients will probably yield the best crab cakes I was very pleased with the alterations. Two mistakes that I would look out for in the future is to make sure not to use a dark baking sheet (makes the bottoms of cakes brown too quickly) and rotate the pan 180 degrees so the cakes will cook more evenly. Lastly I took other reviewers' suggestion of using 1/4 tsp old bay seasoning in place of the hot sauce. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I never made Crab Cakes before & was very pleased with the outcome ! Used Spicy Ranch dressing as the dipping sauce. Definately a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I have never made crab cakes befor... the recipe was simple and they taste WONDERFUL... Try it... you WON'T be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were just wonderful. I had extra large eggs so I added a little bit more bread crumbs to offset the added moisture from the bigger egg, also dredged the patties in bread crumbs and sprayed with PAM before broiling about 5 minutes on each side with the rack in the middle of the oven. I'll add that fresh chopped parsley really makes this a wonderful crab cake. We very much liked these, especially Hubs who can be picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars only because I heeded the advice of many other reviewers and made some changes. They came out so good and I will definitely make them again and again. I did not shred the crab meat; I left it well-lumped. I used 3 tablespoons of plain bread crumbs. I did not use salt, pepper, or hot sauce. Instead I used 1 teaspoon of Old Bay Seasoning. I used two tablespoons of mayonnaise. I baked them on the center rack for 12 minutes. They didn't need to go to the top rack at the end for a few extra minutes. They came out perfectly browned and crispy on the outside and hot and full of flavor on the inside. I served them with a fresh-made remoulade sauce that I got at my local farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
LOVED This recipe! Actually didnt have enough crab, so I made little crab cake balls out of this recipe! LOVED IT!!! Even the kids gobbled them up!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Perfection! Whole family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Simply the best. I am from NorCal where we have lots of local crab, but like the folks in Maryland, I too add Old Bay Sesoning. I serve with a local sweet-mustard sauce and roasted green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a good recipe, but a Maryland Crab Cake must have "Old Bay Seasoning".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States