Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this recipe for my very first time making crab cakes. I used 1 lb lump crab from our local seafood market. These turned out amazing. I did add the old bay seasoning (about 1 teaspoon) and seared them in a big electric skillet and it ended up making 8 medium ones. I would recommend this 100%, just make sure your crab and parsley are fresh...it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is very good recipe. I loved broiling over pan frying and the fact that it does not have Old Bay. My favorite crab cakes include scallions and lemon but these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
NEVER NEVER SHRED THE CRABMEAT AND ADD A TABLESPOON OF WORCHESTERSHIRE SAUCE. NO HOT SAUCE, OLD BAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was my first time making crab cakes and this recipe made them wonderful. I too went with larger chunks of crab in the cake (preference): the filler amount for this recipe assumes shredded crab, so my chunky mix needed some time in the fridge to firm up and not crumble. In the future I might shred ~1/3 of the crab and leave the rest in chunks, just to make a nice cohesive cake. I also have an irrational fear of broiling so I just baked at 450 for about 15 minutes: I found this to dry the cakes out. I know broiling would make a nice crispy top with moist insides; I'll just suck it up and make as directed in the future. As with any recipe I seasoned these to our liking, using the written instructions as a guide. This includes Old Bay, but I agree with a previous review that it's not a requirement for a perfect crab cake. This is now my crab cake recipe, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were wonderful. I substituted the hot pepper sauce for Old Bay, as others recommended. I also did not shred the crab meat and was careful not to overmix the mixture, as others warned against. They were delicious...thank you Bea!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Substituted hot sauce with old bay seasoning and sprinkled a little more old bay on the top of each one before baking. Excellent recipe! I will be sure to use this one on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
First time I ever made crab cakes. That being said, I grew up in the DC, MD, VA area, and still live here. I tweaked the recipe a bit, and it turned out okay, however, I have a couple of more tweaks for it to make it even better. What I did today. No salt, added Cayenne pepper, just a couple of shakes, added Worchestershire Sauce, ignore the hot sauce, use Old Bay instead. Instead of dry mustard, I used prepared Dijon coarse mustard. To form the cakes, use a 1/4 cup measuring cup. It makes the perfect size crab cake...Next time, I will add some lemon zest and a little more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAB1
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This crab cake was insanely delish!! The only differences I made were cooking them in a cast iron pan on the grill. I put a couple small pats of butter on the pan and a couple small pats on top of each cake. I also sprinkled Old Bay seasoning in the mixture as well as sprinkling it on top while it cooked (used this instead of hot sauce). This is the first time I made crab cakes too...I always thought it was too difficult. These are easy and good. This will be my "go to" crab cake recipe from now on. EDIT: I've made this many times now and followed someones tip to use a 1/3 measuring cup to mold the cakes and it is truly genius. They are the perfect size! Also, I get the 16 oz container of Phillips crab meat from Costco. It is the cheapest and best crab meat you can buy! Also, I mix all ingredients and gently fold the crab meat in last and I never shred it - I like big chunks of crab, not shredded crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I couldn't find fresh crab meat, so I used a nice piece of fresh salmon. I steamed the salmon, and flaked it into small pieces. I didn't have dried breadcrumbs in the pantry so I used oatmeal. I used dried dill in place of the parsley, the only other substitution I made was to use Miracle Whip in place of the mayo. They were tasty, but I don't see what all the fuss is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe, my boyfriend asks me to make these all the time, but I agree with some other reviewers when they say leave the crab meat in lumps, it is much better. Also had to leave them in the fridge to firm...they looked like they would have fallen apart otherwise. I also added some lemon juice. Good recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States