Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Absolutely the best crab cake recipe. I substituted Old Bay seasoning for the hot sauce. This recipe really let the crab flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Being from Baltimore, I don't know how anyone can call these Maryland crab cakes without adding Old Bay seafood seasoning. The recipe is actually very good, but not by Maryland's standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was very good with fresh caught blue crabs Old Bay mixed with Cheddar Gold Fish crackers and corn flakes ground up; then used a bit of mustard- and split mayo/cream cheese topped it w/Cajun Spice. Broiled for about 10 minutes. Can't wait to check the traps in the morning. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Really easy to make and good consistency! I made these with real crab and they tasted pretty good! I will probably tinker with this recipe, maybe adding chopped peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was very helpful as this was my first time making crabcakes. It was easy to follow. I added some more bread crumbs because the mixture seemed to be a little too moist. They were wonderful. I think I'd prefer to have them pan fried, but this is an excellent choice for a more healthy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I enjoyed these and they were easy to make. I do think that they needed something to spice them up though. I broiled them on a lighly greased cookie sheet and they turned out fine. I did not need to flip them over as other reviewers had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
i thought this recipe was great. like most recipes, i modified it. i used 1 can of crab meat 4oz, and 12 oz of imitation crab. i also took the suggestions of others and added a tsp of old bay seasoning. finely chopped green onions are a great addition. i've already made them times in the past wk. rave reviews! ***i've found that non-stick aluminum foil works great on the bottom of the broiler pan***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I thought the texture was not very good! If they had rice with them they would taste a whole lot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My husband says this recipe is a keeper. I followed the recipe except added 1 T Old Bay seasoning and 1 t Worcestershire sauce. i used 1 lb can of crabmeat by Sigma Supreme and it was good consistency for making patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I'm from Maryland also. The recipe sounds OK except PLEASE don't shred the crab meat. It should stay in lumps and be handled gently. It's traditional to use Maryland's own Old Bay seasoning, not hot sauce. Also, when formed the cakes should be refrigerated for about half an hour, to firm up a little and prevent their breaking up in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Queenstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States