Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I'm from Maryland also. The recipe sounds OK except PLEASE don't shred the crab meat. It should stay in lumps and be handled gently. It's traditional to use Maryland's own Old Bay seasoning, not hot sauce. Also, when formed the cakes should be refrigerated for about half an hour, to firm up a little and prevent their breaking up in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ilford, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Queenstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland, so if anyone knows a good crabcake, it's me. And this recipe will make you one FINE crabcake! I didn't have dry mustard on hand, but I substituted a bit of spicy brown, and it worked just fine. A tip - do NOT overmix the crab meat - it will not turn out the way it's supposed to if you do - it's supposed to be lumpy! (People who weren't raised in MD tend not to know this, I've found.) If you can find Old Bay in your supermarket, BUY IT - it makes the difference! And of course, good Maryland crabmeat, if you can! Thanks, Bea, this rivals my own recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I am from Maryland and we DO love our crabcakes!! It is important to use fresh, not canned crabmeat, lump is the best. I know this makes it more expensive but it is the difference between great and boring Mrs. Paul's. Also, I like to add some Old Bay seasoning to spice it up. Be gentle when mixing together the ingredients so you don't break up the sweet lumps of crabmeat, you don't want it to be fine like catfood!! I also like to saute my crabcakes in butter in a skillet rather than broil them, but either way this is a delicious and authentic recipe. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I am from Maryland, so we eat alot of crabcakes. I have tried many crabcake recipes, and this one is probably the best. I followed the recipe exactly, but I wanted to add Old Bay Seasoning, which I forgot *gasp*. Don't over mix the crab meat. It should stay lumpy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
These are great, with some adjustments as others have suggested; it is a must to add Old Bay, and I formed them and then chilled them so they didn't fall apart. My crab cake connisseur thought they were great. Served them with a Joe's Mustard Sauce (South Beach Diet) and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These are outstanding crabcakes! I added a bit of Dijon and minced green onions to them. Serves with Crab Cake sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I used 3 tablespoons bread crumbs and I used imitation crab meat. Yum! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I had a dinner party with a bunch of picky people, who all enjoyed this recipe (thankfully!) The only things I would do differently are to 1) use a cookie sheet, not a broiler pan 2) actually remember to lightly grease the cookie sheet and 3) make more. There were 8 people and I scaled the recipe for 10, but it still only came out to about 1.5 crabcakes per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIRSHON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Here in the UK crab is expensive. So i added some white fish to bulk it out. It worked very well. The cakes were light and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
We love crab cakes and these were delicious! I served them with the Black bean & Corn salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States