Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe! I have never made Crab Cakes from scratch I usually order them at fancy restaurants on special occasions. These were very easy to make, and were a HUGE hit with everyone! If you are a fan of the traditional Maryland Crabcake this recipe is great! I agree with other posts don't shred the crab its supposed to be lumpy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Pretty good! DH really like these crab cakes- I used Old Bay instead of hot sauce- then mixed some hot sauce in the tartar sauce when I served them. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These are very good and very easy to make. Like others I used Old Bay instead of hot sauce. Just enough wet ingredients to hold together but not too much to overpower the taste of the crab. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
We loved this recipe - I followed the suggestions of others using 2T mayo, 1tsp Old Bay and corn flake crumbs - broiled on 2nd shelf for 10 minutes then moved to top shelf for 3 minutes. Used egg substitute to lower the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is how Maryland crab cakes are supposed to taste! I am also from Maryland, and as other users have said, DONT shred the crabmeat! With our left over steamed crabs I made these crabcakes and they were delicious. I used Old Bay (not hot sauce) and added a bit of crushed red pepper flake. Yum Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I finally can make the type of crab cakes I love so much. Having been spoiled with Maryland style crab cakes when I lived in PA, I have ordered these several times in NY and NJ and rarely have crab cakes in this style. As from other reviewers, I made some changes. I used 1 lb of fresh crab meat which would result in about 5 dinner size cakes. I used Old Bay instead of Hot Sauce. I used cornflake crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I let sit in fridge for about 30-45 minutes to firm. I put it on rack 2nd from top in broiler. They came out fabulous. I believe I put 2 T of Mayo and at some point might try with homemade mayo as I have been told that it would make a great difference. I served with a Rémoulade sauce bought in seafood department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were super easy to make, but they really need (all together now!) Old Bay Seasoning. They also need finely chopped onions and celery. And please don't shred the crabmeat! Also, I don't think I would use canned crab, and I know that I wouldn't use fake crab. We used Dungeoness from the Puget Sound... fresh caught today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Grew up on the Chesapeake and lived in Maryland for 38 yrs. This is a very tasty recipe. I only changed two things because of a lack of ingredients when I made them and they came out wonderfully. I substituted basil for the parsley and used a bit of Old Bay instead of hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I'm sorry, I didn't like this at all. It was way too salty for my taste, and I didn't add any salt. It may be because I used canned crab but I did rinse it before using it. I've never had crabcakes before so I didn't know what to expect. However crab is my most favorite food in the world, so if I can try it again with some help from other cooks, I'm willing to have a go at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
These were delicious and really easy! I added 1 Tbsp of Old Bay and left out the salt and pepper like others suggested. Better than what I've had in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States