Maryland Crab Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I'm amazed. I made these this evening using imitation crab and was very surprised. Can't wait to find fresh crab and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made these and they were a total hit! I did use Panko crumbs and omitted the hot sauce. I mixed them up, made them into bite sized crab cakes and put them in fridge. I baked them in the oven on broil for about 5 min each side put some tartar sauce on the side and had a great appetizer for a party I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used imitation crab and basil instead of parsley. Boyfriend loved it, I felt it was missing something, possibly salt and more mustard (we used mustard, not mustard powder). Chilled as recommended, and kept the crab in chunks. Will try again, but with only 4 minutes in the broiler (5 minutes burned them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great use of fresh Dungeness crab from Puget Sound! Followed the recipe fairly close, but did not bother with measurements - everything by eye. I did thrown in some Panko crumbs with the bread crumbs and added the requisite Old Bay. Sprinkled the tops with extra Panko and sprayed with Pam. DON'T broil for 10-15 minutes as recipe calls for, or at least not on the top rack. Mine was starting to over brown on top in 3 minutes. Followed another reviewer's suggestion and set the oven to broil, but used the middle-low rack for all but the last 2-3 minutes. Served with a variation of a Remoulade sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I have lived in Maryland all my life, and these, I'm sorry to say, were not good crab cakes. They were dry and had a poor taste besides. We will not be having these again. What a terrible waste of a pound of backfin crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe didn't do it for me. The flavor was fine, and I left it lumpy as was recommended, but the cakes (patties) did not hold together and was like plopping chunky cooky dough onto the baking sheet, then working to make each plop hold together to resemble a crab cake. I think it was too lumpy, but even mixing it better did not deliver better results. A lot of work and costly for it not to turn out appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
yummy, just as promised! Don't crush the crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I made these last night - but I didnt have real lump crab. I had to use the imitation crab, because I just couldnt wait to try this. I know that for purists that might be a mortal sin, but it turned out FANTASTIC. My guy said "it's the best thing I have ever eaten in my life" Now I have to go out and get the real lump crab - which will probably curl his hair :) and get me flowers :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I combined this recipe with another recipe that called for the same ingredients except I added panko bread crumbs to my italian bread crumbs, a dash of Worchestire sauce, a teaspoon of lemon juice and cayenne pepper. After I prepared the crab cakes, I put them in the refrigerator for 30-40 minutes to let them firm up and cooked them in olive oil. My family loved it. They thought my crab cakes tasted better than restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were really good but I did add some old bay seasoning like others said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States