Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Perfect comfort food for the fall. I like it cold out of the frig and hubby likes it warm from the microwave. Either way, it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
there are few recipes that I just give solid 5... this is one. Just did the recommendation of double rhubarb and 2 cups sugar. I've added strawberries in the past. It's a perfect combination. Splendid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this exact to directions. Rhubarb wasn't cooked and the entire cake was like thick soup?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars with the following amendments: - use white cake instead of yellow cake - use 4-6 cups of rhubarb, not 2 - use 1/4 cup of sugar, not 1 and 1/4 cups When I first tried the recipe as posted it was MUCH too sweet, and the rhubarb was lost. As amended, it is just a little hint of sweet with lots of rhubarb tang. I love it, and I make it a lot in the summer. Everyone who loves rhubarb raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Use heavy whipping cream, half & half makes it soupy. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
this is my favorite rhubarb cake! My Grandmother use to make the same thing when I was young and it has always been my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
A little sweet, I lessened the sugar and used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
OH MY GOSH! This was by far a great simple desert. I did use 3/4 c. whipping cream instead of 1/2 c. as called for. It was no problem. I did used 4 c. frozen rhubarb and let it drain for a about 1 hour as sugested by others. Also as suggested I cut the sugar. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar but next time I will try 1 1/2 cups. Someone said a cake mix had a store bought taste to it. I always use 1/2 milk and 1/2 water for the liquid, plus oil and eggs as specified in cake mix directions when making a cake mix. My friends never realize that it is a mix until I tell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was super easy to do. The cake to rhubarb ratio is off. Too much cake not enough rhubarb. I used three cups of rhubarb and about 3/4 cup of sugar. I like the cake with the Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I, better and it doesn't have all the added fat from the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I'm not a rhubarb fan but my family loves it. Hubby says it's a 'keeper'; so for now on I have to make this every spring. *Yea for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOBOKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States