Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
My recipe calls for 4-1\2 cups of rhubarb over batter followed by the sugar sprinkled over rhubarb followed by a whole pint of heavy whipping cream. Makes the most delicious rhubarb custard under a moist cake top. Never fails to turn out and disappears quickly. Requested by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I have made this cake with great raves from friends and family! It's very easy to make and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have served this cake at many functions, and I have yet to see leftovers! I too cut the sugar and double the amount of rhubarb. I have also used 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups triple berry blend or variations of other fruits with the rhubarb, and it always goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Yummy. So easy and I loved how the rhubarb/custard all fell to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loine Crist Reinhardt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ennis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
per my aunts recipe, I used 5c rhubarb, 1 c sugar, and 1 pint cream... perfect - still very sweet. Excellent w/ cool whip when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My father LOVES rhubarb. THis is one of his favorite cake recipes. Happy Father's Day Dad! I am happy to bake this one up for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Awesome. Use a butter recipe golden cake mix and about 5 cups of rhubarb, cut sugar to 3/4 c and sprinkled 2T red strawberry jello powder over top of cake when I dumped it all together. Took about 45 min to bake but it was great for a summer picnic! My 5 yr old could make this its so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onsornurse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this with 4 cups of rhubarb, the amount of sugar called for, a lemon cake mix, and messed up and used a full pint of whipping cream. The extra whipping cream made it very "moist" on the bottom. Either the sugar and/or the cake mix made it too sweet. I ended up cutting up raw rhubarb and microwaving it in a bowl and then adding that to each of my servings to get the right tart to sweet taste that I wanted. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This has been a favorite for years. I also up my rhubarb to 4 cups, sugar only 1 cup, and whipping cream 1 1/2 cup (table cream and 1/2 & 1/2 will not set up for a nice custard) Always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menno, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States