Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This recipe was one that I have seen for a while but thought it was too easy to be good. I was wrong! It was delicious and easy. I only had a lemon cake mix so used that instead and it turned out great! My parents loved it. Next time I might add a bit more cream because I LOVE the custard that it makes at the bottom of the cake. This is a delicious and fast cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I had so much rhubarb that I used twice as much as the recipe called for with 2 cups sugar but it was wonderful! My family loved it and it was gone before it got cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This cake is moist and delicious. It's also great with a combo of rhubarb and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Campbellsport, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
WOW! 5 stars on ease of preparation and 5 stars on taste! It's DEE-LISH! I'm trying hard to stay away from the leftovers and I'm finding it's most difficult. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Delicious! Extremely moist. Rhubarb added a nice tartness. I only used 1 cup of sugar and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
It doesn't get any better than this! I'd give it six stars if I could. We've been making this recipe for years and everyone absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Sprinkle strawberry jello over rhubarb and sugar before adding cake mix for another yummy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
So quick and easy and soooo nummy gone in an instant gave a few pieces to co-workers and babysitter and they gobbled it up and were drooling for more. I've never cooked anything with rhubarb before but but a plant and its sooo huge I've been experimenting. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I've been making this cake for years and it's my DH's favorite! Be sure to refrigerate the leftovers (if there are any) because it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
My family's been making this recipe ever since we found it at a potluck. We've found it's also very good with raspberries if you don't have any rhubarb. A tip: never, ever, ever use half and half in place of cream. The rhubarb will stay crunchy and sour and the whole thing will be soupy- inedible. I know this because my mother tried this once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States