Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was super easy to do. The cake to rhubarb ratio is off. Too much cake not enough rhubarb. I used three cups of rhubarb and about 3/4 cup of sugar. I like the cake with the Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I, better and it doesn't have all the added fat from the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I'm not a rhubarb fan but my family loves it. Hubby says it's a 'keeper'; so for now on I have to make this every spring. *Yea for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T and what some called custard seemed slimy and mushy to me. Maybe it was the glass baking pan. I will stick to rhubarb breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Thanks for sharing. Great recipe to find during rhubarb season. A little Reddi Whip and some mint leaves, eat warm or cold. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUGAR3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
It was good but not a five star. My husband loved the edges. I thought it could have used more rhubarb. Next time I will double the rhubarb but keep the sugar the same. I like the tartness of the rhubarb but this lacked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Absolutely the best! I even made it healthier by making my own yellow cake with whole wheat flour and less sugar. I used more rhubarb and less sugar in the topping. The cake was gone before it cooled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is my fav. recipe for rhubarb cake! Lost my recipe...so glad it is here! Doing it non-traditional for graduation, Thank-you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ima Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Britt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Pretty good. I think nest time I'll try a cake made from scratch instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I am rating this cake 4 due because it is too sweet. This coming from a sweet tooth. The sugar ratio (to me) over-powers the rhubarb. When it is a Rhubarb Cake...rhubarb should be the star of the cake. The flavor of it should be forefront. Not sugar. However, it is very, very easy to make and I like the fact that it is not too custardy. The contrast between textures are spot on to me. Might be due to the fact that I left in 10 minutes longer. I definitely agree-- the recipe is a keeper but I will (like the other suggestions) increase the rhubarb to 4 cups and decrease sugar to 3/4-1 cup. The sugar already in the cake mix compensates enough but even with original recipe measurements a delicious cake. The whipping cream gives it that homey goodness. Note: I do agree that the box cake mix flavor comes thru but recipes like this--are for quick, tasty, easy desserts. This recipe perfectly fits tha' bill. If were not for the over sweetness, I would give it 5 for a GOOD BOXED CAKE recipe and it is highly adaptable to other substitutions as well as additions. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Amazing...I'm planning on growing more rhubarb this year because this recipe is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States