Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is just like the cake my aunt would make in the summer when we had family functions! Thank you!!! I knew what the ingredients were, but didn't remember the quantities. I used a Lemon cake mix with some frozen rhubarb and it was delicious!! Next time I will try this with blackberries instead of the rhubarb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Perfect comfort food for the fall. I like it cold out of the frig and hubby likes it warm from the microwave. Either way, it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
there are few recipes that I just give solid 5... this is one. Just did the recommendation of double rhubarb and 2 cups sugar. I've added strawberries in the past. It's a perfect combination. Splendid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this exact to directions. Rhubarb wasn't cooked and the entire cake was like thick soup?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars with the following amendments: - use white cake instead of yellow cake - use 4-6 cups of rhubarb, not 2 - use 1/4 cup of sugar, not 1 and 1/4 cups When I first tried the recipe as posted it was MUCH too sweet, and the rhubarb was lost. As amended, it is just a little hint of sweet with lots of rhubarb tang. I love it, and I make it a lot in the summer. Everyone who loves rhubarb raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Use heavy whipping cream, half & half makes it soupy. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
this is my favorite rhubarb cake! My Grandmother use to make the same thing when I was young and it has always been my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
A little sweet, I lessened the sugar and used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
OH MY GOSH! This was by far a great simple desert. I did use 3/4 c. whipping cream instead of 1/2 c. as called for. It was no problem. I did used 4 c. frozen rhubarb and let it drain for a about 1 hour as sugested by others. Also as suggested I cut the sugar. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar but next time I will try 1 1/2 cups. Someone said a cake mix had a store bought taste to it. I always use 1/2 milk and 1/2 water for the liquid, plus oil and eggs as specified in cake mix directions when making a cake mix. My friends never realize that it is a mix until I tell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was super easy to do. The cake to rhubarb ratio is off. Too much cake not enough rhubarb. I used three cups of rhubarb and about 3/4 cup of sugar. I like the cake with the Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I, better and it doesn't have all the added fat from the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States