Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This has been a favorite for years. I also up my rhubarb to 4 cups, sugar only 1 cup, and whipping cream 1 1/2 cup (table cream and 1/2 & 1/2 will not set up for a nice custard) Always a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menno, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is just like the cake my aunt would make in the summer when we had family functions! Thank you!!! I knew what the ingredients were, but didn't remember the quantities. I used a Lemon cake mix with some frozen rhubarb and it was delicious!! Next time I will try this with blackberries instead of the rhubarb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Perfect comfort food for the fall. I like it cold out of the frig and hubby likes it warm from the microwave. Either way, it's heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
there are few recipes that I just give solid 5... this is one. Just did the recommendation of double rhubarb and 2 cups sugar. I've added strawberries in the past. It's a perfect combination. Splendid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this exact to directions. Rhubarb wasn't cooked and the entire cake was like thick soup?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars with the following amendments: - use white cake instead of yellow cake - use 4-6 cups of rhubarb, not 2 - use 1/4 cup of sugar, not 1 and 1/4 cups When I first tried the recipe as posted it was MUCH too sweet, and the rhubarb was lost. As amended, it is just a little hint of sweet with lots of rhubarb tang. I love it, and I make it a lot in the summer. Everyone who loves rhubarb raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Use heavy whipping cream, half & half makes it soupy. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
this is my favorite rhubarb cake! My Grandmother use to make the same thing when I was young and it has always been my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
A little sweet, I lessened the sugar and used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
OH MY GOSH! This was by far a great simple desert. I did use 3/4 c. whipping cream instead of 1/2 c. as called for. It was no problem. I did used 4 c. frozen rhubarb and let it drain for a about 1 hour as sugested by others. Also as suggested I cut the sugar. I used 1 3/4 c. sugar but next time I will try 1 1/2 cups. Someone said a cake mix had a store bought taste to it. I always use 1/2 milk and 1/2 water for the liquid, plus oil and eggs as specified in cake mix directions when making a cake mix. My friends never realize that it is a mix until I tell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States