Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I'm not a rhubarb fan but my family loves it. Hubby says it's a 'keeper'; so for now on I have to make this every spring. *Yea for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOBOKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T and what some called custard seemed slimy and mushy to me. Maybe it was the glass baking pan. I will stick to rhubarb breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Thanks for sharing. Great recipe to find during rhubarb season. A little Reddi Whip and some mint leaves, eat warm or cold. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUGAR3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
It was good but not a five star. My husband loved the edges. I thought it could have used more rhubarb. Next time I will double the rhubarb but keep the sugar the same. I like the tartness of the rhubarb but this lacked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Absolutely the best! I even made it healthier by making my own yellow cake with whole wheat flour and less sugar. I used more rhubarb and less sugar in the topping. The cake was gone before it cooled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is my fav. recipe for rhubarb cake! Lost my recipe...so glad it is here! Doing it non-traditional for graduation, Thank-you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ima Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Britt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Pretty good. I think nest time I'll try a cake made from scratch instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I am rating this cake 4 due because it is too sweet. This coming from a sweet tooth. The sugar ratio (to me) over-powers the rhubarb. When it is a Rhubarb Cake...rhubarb should be the star of the cake. The flavor of it should be forefront. Not sugar. However, it is very, very easy to make and I like the fact that it is not too custardy. The contrast between textures are spot on to me. Might be due to the fact that I left in 10 minutes longer. I definitely agree-- the recipe is a keeper but I will (like the other suggestions) increase the rhubarb to 4 cups and decrease sugar to 3/4-1 cup. The sugar already in the cake mix compensates enough but even with original recipe measurements a delicious cake. The whipping cream gives it that homey goodness. Note: I do agree that the box cake mix flavor comes thru but recipes like this--are for quick, tasty, easy desserts. This recipe perfectly fits tha' bill. If were not for the over sweetness, I would give it 5 for a GOOD BOXED CAKE recipe and it is highly adaptable to other substitutions as well as additions. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Amazing...I'm planning on growing more rhubarb this year because this recipe is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Made this with my 8yr old neice. We had so much fun it was so easy to make! (And it gave us something to do with all our rhubarb!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States