Maryann's Upside Down Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I want to give this the highest possible review, since this is a great dessert, even though I feel the amounts and baking time are off. My family also makes this, but we do the following: use 4c rhubarb, sprinkle over prepared cake batter, put 1c sugar over rhubarb, pour 1c heavy whipping cream over all, and bake for 1hr. Easy as 4-1-1-1! I love the simplicity and yet complexity of the moist cake, custard-y bottom, sweetness with tangy. I think if you only used 2c rhubarb, you would lose the fresh, tangy rhubarb flavor in all the sweetness. It's great served hot or cold, with vanilla ice cream or cool whip or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
nothing special but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I wanted this for my birthday cake this year. I asked my daugher and her friend to make it for me. They accidentally doubled the Heavy Cream. Turned out extra custard-y. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I cut the sugar in half and tossed the diced rhubarb in 3oz strawberry gelatin with the adjusted sugar amount. Perfect! So easy and loved by everyone in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very good & moist !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Made as directed except used 10% cream and it turned out fine. Maybe because I didn't cut back on the sugar? Left in pan and just flipped over pieces as served (still warm). Added cinnamon for personal taste. Next time I will try adding more rhubarb if I have enough. Its still a cake mix but it is a quick and easy dessert. There are plenty of other recipes for those who want to make their own cake. Used a glass 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have been making this for years. In my oven it does take close to an hour to bake and because of all the extra cream it doesn't get completely set in the center so the tooth pick may not be completely clean. It will have cooked enough to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Boscaljon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Easy to make an delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBBIEKAUFMAN
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Made this today but used 3 cups Rhubarb and it was fantastic. Will definitely make again. When you cut and serve make sure to turn upside down. Would probably be good with some fresh raspberries on top for looks and garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Serve with vanilla ice cream, my husband always hated rhubarb until He tried this wonderful cake! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States