Maryanne's Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I kept everything the same in this dish except that I sauteed the veggies instead of boiling them and substituted the tarragon for a bunch of minced garlic. I have never loved brussel sprouts (I like all veggies but cabbage), however, my kids like them so I have been trying to learn:) I really LOVED this dish. It tasted rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Great recipe -- versatile and easy! I measured all the spices as indicated, used chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water (but just eyeballed the amounts), added a splash each of olive oil and white wine, used 3 good dollops of sour cream instead of measuring it out from my large container, and put a few pinches of shredded parm right into the pan at the end (instead of topping it once plated). I used the veggies I had on hand: fresh onion and carrot, frozen brussels sprouts, broccoli (maybe 1/2c each, though I didn't measure), and green beans (maybe 1/4c), and jarred roasted red peppers and artichokes (probably 2tbs each). I served it over rigatoni because that's what was in the cabinet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Changed recipe a little. Didn't have angel hair, used Rigatoni (corkscrew pasta). Used vegetable broth instead of bouillon cube & water (too salty). Used turnips instead of potatoes. No sour cream, used Greek Yogurt in place of it. Allergic to Parmesan used Guerye cheese instead. Sauted onions and garlic in olive oil and butter, then added rest of vegetables and dried herbs. Added vegetable broth then added pasta and yogurt at end. Shaved cheese on top. We enjoyed it. Husband loves Brussels Sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I didn't have tarragon or red pepper flakes so I left them out and used twice as much oregano. I added bit of salt and a clove of garlic. And despite the fact that the noodles all stuck together and I used twice as much potato as I should have... AND I didn't increase the water or sour cream to make up for it... this turned out quite well. Next time I make it (and I will make it again) I'll pay attention to what I'm doing and make it like it's supposed to be... versus the sticky (but tasty!) mess I have that reminds of high school "macaroni and glue".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Delicious!! The whole family loved it, we had no leftovers that night. Made a couple of adjustments, didn't have enough sour cream so used half cream cheese instead. Also didn't have tarragon, so added more red pepper flakes and oregano, plus some garlic powder (we're big on garlic). I loved being able to eat Brussels sprouts in a non-holiday meal. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I did make a few adjustments, but mostly to accomoodate what I had on hand and for quantity. I had brussel sprouts that I wanted to use and changed the rest of the vegetables. I used sliced carrots and sliced red peppers. I also sauteed the brussel sprouts and carrots, since they are harder in texture in a bit of olive oil and garlic first - and then continued with the recipe, adding vegetable broth (instead of water and bouillion). I like a lot of sauce, so I increased the liquid amount to 1 1/2 cups and I think this actually results in a good generous serving for 2 - instead of 4. I didn't have tarragon - substituted sage. Also added white pepper to the liquid mix. I also had whipped cream cheese on hand instead of sour cream, so I used that. My teenaged daughter cleaned her plate and I'm enjoying the final bites of mine right now!Just had to write right away since the reviews seemed so so and this was not my experience. I think the outcome would be very similar even if you used all of the ingredients in the recipe, except for the quantity of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
If You want kids to eat this leave the pepper flakes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was surprisingly good. I'm not a huge brussels sprouts fan, so I didn't enjoy as much as my husband did, but it was good and simple to make. It was a good way to get more veggies into our diets. I'll make it again, but use other veggies - broccoli, zucchini, peppers, etc. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I couldn't find any terragon, oregano, cornstarch and beans, instead I used potato starch and canned beans. I guess because of that my dish lose taste, so I added soy sauce. but it was still quite good, I have to say..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I never liked Brussells sprouts but am trying to learn to eat more veggies for my baby's benefit. This recipe is wonderful! I highly recommend it - Brussels sprouts and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States