Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was just ok for us. I like the idea of the baking mix being used, but I don't think it had nearly enough cornmeal, and it was very cakey. If I try it again, I think I'll up the cornmeal to a cup, and reduce the baking mix by half a cup. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deannab
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really did like this recipe! It came out very light and airy. However I did put it in the convection oven at 3:25 degrees and it took more than 30 minutes still. However my box of Bisquick mix was only 20 ounces and I needed 24 ounces. My bread is still warm and falls apart very easily but has a lovely flavor and texture. I also used skim milk as that is what I had on hand, and that may have been why as well. I am hoping when it is fully cooled it will not fall apart as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva860
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was delicious and easy. However I think I could have pulled back on the amount of butter used and I made it a full cup of cornmeal and only 1 cup of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the cornbread recipe I have been searching for. It is very moist, even without adding the corn. The only change I made was cutting the sugar by half as others recommended. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome, I cut back the milk a little and added a can of cream corn. It's a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shari
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I halved the recipe (and used a smaller baking pan), also omitted the frozen corn kernels. It was WONDERFUL! Moist, sweet and now my boyfriends favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Thought it was awesome. Followed directions exactly, except so many on here added creamed corn with success, that I had to try it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was very good! Not quite "corny" enough for me, as I like a bit crumblier of a texture, but it was delicious and I'd make it again. Very sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dr.shot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The taste of this cornbread was wonderful, with one modification. I used a scant 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the cup called for, and that was perfect for us. The corn kernels were a lovely addition. The only issue I had with this cornbread was that it was quite crumbly. I might add a bit of buttermilk or sour cream next time to try to combat that issue. Perfect flavour served alongside black eyed pea gumbo for a hearty New Years Day dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States