Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The taste of this cornbread was wonderful, with one modification. I used a scant 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the cup called for, and that was perfect for us. The corn kernels were a lovely addition. The only issue I had with this cornbread was that it was quite crumbly. I might add a bit of buttermilk or sour cream next time to try to combat that issue. Perfect flavour served alongside black eyed pea gumbo for a hearty New Years Day dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Tried this recipe for fellowship hour after church today to go with the Ham Bone Soup I made. Instead of the oil I added a 1/2 cups melted butter and frozen whole kernel corn, this recipe is definitely a keeper with my modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida0409

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made this for chili night, plus took the extras into work the next day. It was loved by all. My only problem was that it didn't hold together the first night. No problem because my family breaks their cornbread over their chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
maryanne, my family LOVED this cornbread recipe, it turned out so moist and very tender, thank you, you should try putting some vanilla yogurt on top, this is a good treat also, many blessings to you and your family. I rate this recipe a 10 (HAPPY)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwipster
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Absolutely amazing cornbread! I make it exactly as stated, and it's a HUGE hit every time. Now, it is definitely sweeter and MUCH more moist than "traditional" cornbread, but soooo much better! I'm not much of a cook, but this recipe fooled our friends into thinking I know what I'm doing in a kitchen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itsmarlene
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is the first time I ever make cornbread, that my family ate!! I served to the grand kids and they loved it. I took a picture of it and posted it. I only used half of the ingredients and cooked it in 8 by 8. Thank you for posting oh I almost forgot I used a can of whole corn and drained it and it was perfect. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmarlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I have made this several times as written. As others have noted 50 minutes in the oven is about right. Everyone who has tried this says that it is the best. Only person who wasn't thrilled with it was my wife. She likes the dried, crumbly cornbread (my words). I think that the next time I make this I will add some jalapenos to it. Thanks Maryanne for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was VERY good! I used sour milk instead of regular, and I did use the corn. My family raved about this. That was certainly a compliment since my hubby is a chef and was featured in a magazine for his own recipe of cornbread! Thank you for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. I have been making it for a while and it is always a hit at bake sales, pot lucks, and with family members. I have made it both with and without the corn (I like it with, boyfriend prefers it without) and have noticed that without corn the 30 min baking time is perfect, whereas it might need an extra 15-20 if you add the corn kernals. While I like it just as sweet as it is, I agree it could be considered more cakelike than traditional cornbread, but I bet you could cut back on the sugar and get something pretty close to tradition. Will keep on making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States