Maryanne's Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was just ok for us. I like the idea of the baking mix being used, but I don't think it had nearly enough cornmeal, and it was very cakey. If I try it again, I think I'll up the cornmeal to a cup, and reduce the baking mix by half a cup. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deannab
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really did like this recipe! It came out very light and airy. However I did put it in the convection oven at 3:25 degrees and it took more than 30 minutes still. However my box of Bisquick mix was only 20 ounces and I needed 24 ounces. My bread is still warm and falls apart very easily but has a lovely flavor and texture. I also used skim milk as that is what I had on hand, and that may have been why as well. I am hoping when it is fully cooled it will not fall apart as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva860
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was delicious and easy. However I think I could have pulled back on the amount of butter used and I made it a full cup of cornmeal and only 1 cup of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is the cornbread recipe I have been searching for. It is very moist, even without adding the corn. The only change I made was cutting the sugar by half as others recommended. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome, I cut back the milk a little and added a can of cream corn. It's a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shari
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I halved the recipe (and used a smaller baking pan), also omitted the frozen corn kernels. It was WONDERFUL! Moist, sweet and now my boyfriends favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Thought it was awesome. Followed directions exactly, except so many on here added creamed corn with success, that I had to try it that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was very good! Not quite "corny" enough for me, as I like a bit crumblier of a texture, but it was delicious and I'd make it again. Very sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dr.shot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The taste of this cornbread was wonderful, with one modification. I used a scant 1/4 cup of sugar instead of the cup called for, and that was perfect for us. The corn kernels were a lovely addition. The only issue I had with this cornbread was that it was quite crumbly. I might add a bit of buttermilk or sour cream next time to try to combat that issue. Perfect flavour served alongside black eyed pea gumbo for a hearty New Years Day dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States